Seventy-one Indiana high school seniors — 39 boys and 32 girls — have been chosen as first-team Academic All-State by the Indiana Basketball Coaches Association, according to a March 17 news release.

In this area, Regan Carroll of Jac-Cen-Del High School was selected for the first team.

In addition, 188 more boys and 189 more girls were recognized as honorable mention Academic All-State for 2020, IBCA executive director Steve Witty said.

Colt Meyer, Macy Prickel, Carlie Werner and Abigail Westerfeld of Batesville High School, Megan Caudy of East Central High School, Ashlan Hill and Taylor McCreary of Franklin County High School, Matt Riehle and Carter Wade of Milan High School and Cory Ralston of South Ripley High School were named to the honorable mention list.

The IBCA Academic All-State team is a program where academic and athletic prowess both are considered in the selections. Items such as grade-point average, college board scores and academic class rank are considered along with athletic performance in areas such as points per game, rebounds per game and assists per game.

"The quality of these student-athletes shows that success in academics and success in athletics are not separate entities," Witty said. "Rather, in many cases, a player's success in the classroom directly contributes to his or her success on the floor."

IBCA-member head coaches from schools across the state may nominate their seniors who meet criteria that include a 3.5 GPA or higher on a 4.0 scale, class rank in the upper 25% of one's class, an SAT score of 1,100 (on the reading and math sections) or an ACT composite score of 24.

Once nominations are received, an IBCA committee reviews the information and determines awards for first team and honorable mention.

Those selected will receive IBCA certificates that will be distributed to coaches at the annual IBCA Clinic April 24-25 at Lawrence North High School, Indianapolis. The coaches will then present the certificates to the honored players.

The IBCA has selected an Academic All-State team for boys since 1973. The program was expanded to include a girls' Academic All-State team in 1980.

Recommended for you