The Batesville High School men’s swimming program participated in the IHSAA Sectional Championship Feb 20 and 22 at Columbus North High School, said head coach Greg McMullen.

Batesville was seventh out of 13 teams with 126 points. The Bloomington North High School team came in first with 448 points. Other area teams participating included East Central High School, fourth with 290; Milan, sixth with 137; and Oldenburg Academy, 11th with 14.

BHS teams finished sixth in both the 200 medley relay (1:47.85) and 200 free relay (1:37.07).

Individual results: 200 IM – Benjamin Moster, 13th (2:15.39), and Sean Callahan, 15th (2:17.11); 50 free – William Johnson, 14th (24.11); 100 fly – Ethan Brewer, sixth (56.03); 500 free – Callahan, 11th (5:27.96), and Ciaran Tyrer, 15th (5:46.14); 100 back –Johnson, 11th (1:01.61), and Brewer, 16th (1:10.78); and 100 breast Moster, seventh (1:06.22), and Tyrer (14th, 1:11.09).

The coach also revealed some notable accomplishments for his swimmers: Brewer’s sixth-place finish is the highest Bulldog placement since Matt Weiler’s second-place finish at the 2014 sectional championship. He is also ranked third in the 100 fly.

Johnson made a big splash this season on the top 10 list for BHS: sixth 50 free, fourth 100 back and 10th 200 IM. Moster also helped his top 10 rankings: sixth for 200 IM and 100 breast. Callahan is now third all-time in the 500 free, seventh 200 IM, 10th 100 breast, eighth 50 free and ninth 200 free. Tyrer also broke into the top 10 in the 100 breast at seventh.


On March 4, the Bulldogs men and women’s swimmers celebrated with their end-of-season banquet at BHS.

The MVP awards, for individuals scoring the most points over the course of the season, were presented to Sonja Gaulin and Benjamin Moster.

Bulldog Awards, which go to individuals who exemplify the qualities of what it means to be a Bulldog. This is based on their attitude, desires, hustle, teamwork and practice habits. Honorees were Maria Lopez and Mason Enneking.

The Most Improved awards are given to individuals who show dedication to not only improving in meets, but also in practice habits, attitude and overall skill development. Abby Blomer and Ean Loichinger received these honors.

Scholarship awards are presented to individuals who maintain the highest cumulative grade-point average on the women and men’s teams. Paige Oldham and Nathan Villani received them.

With the high school season over, all student-athletes are on a break from swim team activities. Some will join the Batesville summer swim team, while others will wait until the 2020-21 season, which will begin in October, McMullen revealed.

The women were 2-5 in the EIAC and 12-13 in overall dual meet record. The men were 5-1 in EIAC and 15-1 in overall dual meet records.

Recommended for you