Batesville High School’s cross country teams sparkled to end the month of September and dazzled to begin October.

Following Saturday’s sweep of the Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference meet at Moores Hill Elementary, the co-ed Bulldogs raced to 1st-place finishes at the Batesville Invitational Tuesday despite record-high heat and humidity.

Senior Adam Moster led the Bulldog boys, racing across in 16:56. On his heels was sophomore Ean Loichinger at 17:01. Soph Benjamin Moster was 6th (18:02), senior Joshua Myers 10th (18:33) and junior Dillon Murray 11th (18:40).

The boys won the big-school race with 30 points as Seymour was next with 43. Rushville followed at 69, East Central scored 83 and Franklin County had 115.

The girls also finished with a 1-2 punch, sophomore Lily Pinckley winning in 20:23 and freshman Ava Hanson runner-up with 20:27. Sophomore Maria Lopez was 5th (21:43).

The Lady Bulldogs dominated in scoring, posting a 25 to FC’s 53. Rushville had 73, Seymour 83 and EC incomplete.

Supporting the win were junior Trysta Vierling (22:33) in 10th and sophomores Katie Olsen (22:40), Sarah Ripperger (23:01) and Carley Pride (23:41) in spots 11-13.

In the small-schools category, Jac-Cen-Del’s boys defeated Oldenburg Academy 28-37. JCD’s Damon Hughes was first in the division at 18:00, followed by OA senior Dylan Fledderman at 18:16. Lanie Nicholson led South Ripley (34 pts.) to the girls title, crossing at 21:12.

Other OA runs were: senior Aaron Weber (3rd; 18:36), junior Tyler Kuntz (4th; 18:48), senior Sarah Price (10th; 25:14), junior Peter Heile (13th; 20:50), sophomore Carson Wolber (15th; 20:55) and freshman Carter Walsman (17th; 20:56).

Although the junior varsity race was not scored, awards were given to the top 10 and Batesville claimed 9 ribbons.

Sophomore Jade Eisert won the girls race in 25:32. Hope Kroen was 2nd, Carla Patapat 3rd and Kali Wickersham 5th. Senior Luke Esser finished just out of first, getting runner-up at 19:02. Alex Livers made his senior night special with a personal best and 3rd-place finish. Nathan Villani was 5th, Will Nuhring 6th and Luke Nuhring 8th. Senior Mason Enneking also earned a personal best.

Charlie Laymon was 25th (19:52) in the varsity race and fellow senior Liz Loichinger was sidelined for the meet.

“The Dogs battled through Saturday’s heat and won pretty substantially, also placing 11 individuals on the all-conference team,” said Gausman.

A. Moster was named conference MVP for winning the meet hosted by South Dearborn. E. Loichinger was runner-up at 16:42 and Myers took 3rd (16:54). B. Moster was next for BHS in 6th place (17:38) and Smith was all-EIAC as well after taking 14th (18:10). Murray just missed out, placing 16th (18:19) and Laymon was 28th (19:03).

Trailing BHS were Rushville, Greensburg, EC, Connersville, FC, Lawrenceburg and South Dearborn.

The Lady Bulldogs placed 6 girls into the all-conference photo. After Pinckley’s runner-up were Hanson in 3rd (20:12), Lopez in 8th (21:08), freshman Sophie Myers in 9th (21:12), Vierling in 12th (21:39) and freshman Madison Rahschulte in 14th (21:49). Olsen just missed honors as she placed 16th (22:03). The order of finish was BHS, Greensburg, EC, Rushville, FC, SD, LHS and CHS.

The JV conference meet was not scored but Batesville led the race for both the girls and boys. Esser won in 19:08 and Pride won in 22:40 with Ripperger getting runner-up.

Batesville and OA attended the Greensburg Invitational Thursday (results not available at press time) and rest up for the South Dearborn sectional Oct. 12.