The 60th annual Batesville High School Scholastic Awards Program, sponsored by Batesville Jaycees past members and Batesville Kiwanis Club current members, was held Wednesday, May 15. In the Batesville auditorium in front of family, teachers and friends, 113 students were honored for sustained academic excellence through the awarding of certificates and plaques.

As the school year ends, all types of student achievements are recognized and celebrated. However, this traditional ceremony explicitly honors students who fulfill BHS' primary mission: "To educate all students in a tradition of academic excellence, preparing them for productive and responsible citizenship in a global community."

A student must achieve a semester grade-point average of 3.818 or higher to earn scholastic awards status.

Principal Andy Allen read the names of all award winners as superintendent Paul Ketcham and former Jaycees member Rose Lacey, a BHS English teacher, presented each student with an award.

Twenty-seven seniors – Lily Abplanalp, Beatrice Amberger, Allison Andrews, Adam Bedel, Sydney Bowman, Sophia Brown, Ashlyn Czerniak, Kendall Dickman, Nathan Eckstein, Jenna Ertel, Mark Giesting, Kelly Gole, Daniel Gutzwiller, Robert Heidlage III, Hayley Laker, Grace Lamping, Katherine Poltrack, Robert Raver, George Ritter, Avery Roell, Chloe Shaw, Corinne Stone, Grace Tonges, Maggie Walsman, Melanie Werner, Hattie Westerfeld and Maria Wilhelm – received coveted four-year plaques as they achieved 3.818 GPAs or higher each semester of their high school careers. The principal read autobiographies of this elite group as a slide show presentation was shown.

Twenty-seven students received third-year certificates with seals: juniors Erin Batta, Ciera Belter, Kierra Brock, Cadence Campbell, Elizabeth Cassidy, Joseph Cerniglia, Lillian Esser, Seth Gausman, Joseph Hartman, Elizabeth Heidlage, Caleb Huffmeyer, Caroline Meer, Anna Moeller, Adam Moster, Macy Prickel, Kari Reer, Adam Scott, Vivian Shroder, Isabel Smith, Carlie Werner and Lucas Wilson; and seniors Nathaniel Dunbar, Monica Gerstbauer, Georgia Gratz, Luke Hartman, Kara Obermeyer and Elizabeth Waechter.

Twenty-seven students were presented with second-year certificates with seals: sophomores Katherine Bedel, Katherine Brewer, Olivia Cerniglia, Sidney Dickman, Grace Eckstein, Anna Gerth, Grace Habig, Kylie Hammond, Aidan Jennewein, Rachel Kuntz, Kylie Laker, Paige Oldham, Ava Ralston, Lleyton Ratcliffe, Kavin Saravanan, Grace Sarringhaus, Megan Sloan, Kayla Stone, Taylor Townsley, Trysta Vierling and Nathaniel Villani; juniors Sydney Dieterlen, Mason Enneking, Nicholas Meer and Sarah Ronnebaum; and seniors Hailey Mohr and Donovan Todd.

Thirty-two students earned first-year certificate status: freshmen Ellen Bauer, Jason Emsweller, Pierce Herbert, Joshua Honnert, Calley Kaiser, Ean Loichinger, Maria Lopez Andonegui, Elliott Mertz, Ashley Metcalf, Emily Meyer, Lily Meyer, Ellie Moorman, Benjamin Moster, Ashley Nobbe, Sophia Panzer, Lily Pinckley, Olivia Raab, Sarah Ripperger, Sydnee Schaefer, Katherine Shane, Faith Tekulve, Cole Werner and Vicky Zheng; sophomores Callie Main and Laine Struewing; and seniors Alexandra Cottingham, Brooklyn Laker, Anna McCreary, Caleb Raab, Margaret Weisbrod, Maria Weisbrod and Caitlynn Werner.

The evening ended with a scholarship presentation by Lacey. She presented the $2,000 Jaycees Scholarship to Grace Tonges.