Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana


August 10, 2012

BHS dance team excels at camp

-- — The Batesville High School Dance Team recently attended Universal Dance Association Camp at Great Wolf Lodge Resort.

Over the four days,10 of the 12 team members attended technique classes, learned several new dances, bonded as a team and met other dancers from the Tri-state area, according to coach Randi Stirn.

The team performed a home routine, which earned them a superior rating and a second place trophy.

The squad also earned other awards: Twenty-two gold ribbons for their participation in the Drill Down Competition; 17 blue ribbons and three red ribbons for individual performances; Most Improved Team at camp; and a spirit stick that showed they worked hard, stayed focused and had a positive attitude throughout the week.

In addition, they were presented with the Super Spirit Stick  by another dance team that noticed their hard work and dedication.

Seniors Lisa Miller and Courtney McCray were awarded Pin it Forward pins. These were given to only five dancers a day who demonstrated excellent effort and attitude, Stirn noted. 

Senior Kayla Jones placed fourth out of 145 participants in the Drill Down Competition, where dancers perform a set of modified military commands and literally drill down to the last person standing.

Senior Lizzy Moeller received the All American Award.  This honor is presented to dancers at camp who demonstrate a high level of skill, technique, showmanship, leadership ability and work ethic.

She is the first BHS dance team member to ever receive the award and is now qualified to perform in the New Year’s Day Parade in London.

The dance team is coached by Stirn, Denette Callahan and Brittany Eckstein.

“You can watch the team perform at select home boys and girls basketball games and other community events,” Stirn commented.

Fundraisers planned this school year are a 31 party, and a dance clinic for third through eighth grade students.

These fundraisers help to cover the cost of camp, uniforms, props and competition, according to Stirn.

Text Only
  • 10-year 4-H members Forty Ripley County 4-H’ers have achieved the milestone of becoming 10-year members: Kiersten Abel Parents: Tricia and Scott White and David and Jen AbelClub: Napoleon 4-H Country ClubMajor Projects: Goats and photographyFavorite Project: Photogr

    July 25, 2014

  • Area principals take part in leadership institute Indiana State University’s Bayh College of Education kicked off the 2014-16 Indiana Principal Leadership Institute July 17 with more than 100 Hoosier principals in attendance, according to a news release.Area educators participating in the class are

    July 25, 2014

  • Ivy Tech faculty members recognized Ivy Tech Community College has selected 14 members of its faculty to receive the annual President’s Award for Excellence in Instruction, according to a press release.In a tradition that began in 1983, one faculty member from each of the college’s 14

    July 25, 2014

  • Many BHS grads earn scholarships Batesville High School students were presented with scholarships at the annual Senior Awards Program May 21 from schools and organizations that chose to present at that time. There were many other scholarships awarded to seniors that were not distrib

    July 25, 2014

  • ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENTS West Virginia UniversityParker Blessing, Batesville, has been named to the president’s list at West Virginia University for the spring 2014 semester. He received this honor by achieving a perfect 4.0 grade-point-average. Blessing also graduated at th

    July 22, 2014

  • sch - bv071514 - Brelage scholarship Dreyer awarded nursing scholarship Margaret Mary Health officials, in conjunction with the Ripley County Community Foundation, have awarded the 2014 Doris A. Brelage Nursing Scholarship to Madison Dreyer, Batesville. The 2011 Batesville High School graduate, who is pursuing a nursing

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • sch - bv072214 - Bourquein, Dennis Bourquein is IRTA president-elect The Indiana Retired Teachers’ Association president-elect is Dennis Bourquein, Batesville.He also is IRTA Legislative Committee chair. Bourquein served as IRTA Area 8 director from 2006-10 and has been an IRTA Public Relations Committee member for fo

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Private College Week July 21-25 Students, parents and others interested in the college selection process are invited to tour one or more of Indiana’s 31 private, nonprofit colleges and universities Monday-Friday, July 21-25, to experience the personality of each campus through info

    July 18, 2014

  • Ivy Tech offers new programs The Indiana Commission for Higher Education has approved new programs within the Ivy Tech Community College School of Computing and Informatics. The Lawrenceburg and Madison campuses will offer two new programs this August, server administration and

    July 18, 2014

  • IUPUC adds new concentration The Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus Division of Business is launching a new concentration in health services administration as part of its undergraduate curriculum. Required courses will be offered beginning with the start of fall class

    July 18, 2014