Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

April 29, 2014

Lady Bulldogs win team title at SD invitational

Local runners set marks at meet

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — The Batesville High School girls track and field squad claimed the team title at the annual South Dearborn Invitational.

The Lady Bulldogs finished with a winning score of 177 points followed by Oldenburg Academy in second with 85. The host Lady Knights placed third in the eight team field with 64 points.

“It was a fun night all around, with some amazing performances, fan support, team camaraderie, beautiful weather ... an overall perfect recipe for a great night,” BHS coach Lisa Gausman noted.

There were a number of highlights for both Batesville and Oldenburg Academy, but the biggest came from an athlete on each team - Ginny Westerfeld and Sarah Billingsley.

Batesville senior Ginny Westerfeld set two new meet records. The first came in the 100-meter dash when she crossed the finish line in a time of 12.52. The old record of 12.84 was set in 1984.

Westerfeld followed up later in the meet with a record setting effort in the 200-meter dash. She crossed the finish line in a time of 26.29, which was .06 better than the 2005 mark.

Two individual most valuable player honors are presented per division. One is presented to the individual with the most points scored in the field events and one the running events.

Batesville junior Kim Tidman shared the honors in the field events with Whitney Chipman of Rising Sun as both scored 20 points. Tidman won both the high jump and the long jump.

Ginny Westerfeld was the overall winner for the running events - scoring 25 points for the team. In addition to winning the 100- and 200-meter dashes, Westerfeld was a member of the winning 4 x 100 and 4 x 400 relay teams.

Members of the winning 4 x 100 team were Westerfeld, Tidman, Sophie Meadows and Michaela Westerfeld, while the 4 x 400 team included Westerfeld, Tidman, Kelsey Gausman and Rylee Goldsmith.

Jessica Wagers was a winner in the pole vault for the Lady Bulldogs. She won with a height of 8-feet.

Second place finishers for the Lady Bulldogs were Meadows (100m dash), Goldsmith (400m dash), Gausman (800m dash), Alex Wirth (pole vault), Samantha Heidlage (shot put), Cassie Reverman (discus) and the 4 x 800 relay team (Mary Poltrack, Sarah Poltrack, Grace Yeaton and Gausman).

Some things do not change much from year to year. The Oldenburg Academy Lady Twisters were strong in the distance running events, which is not a suprising given they return a solid group from a successful cross country season.

Sarah Billingsley was a two-time winner for Oldenburg. She placed first in the 1,600-meter run with a time of 5:29.09 and the 3,200-meter race in a record setting time of 11:39.20. The old mark in the two-mile race was 12:03 and set in 2007.

Oldenburg senior Meredith Maier placed first in the 800-meter run with a time of 2:24.91.

Kirsten Ricke raced past the field in the 300-meter hurdles. Ricke won the event with a time of 48.87.

The 4 x 800-meter relay team of Madelyn Maier, Meredith Maier, Reed and Ricke finished just shy of the meet record. The Oldenburg quartet of runners teamed up to win with a time of 9:58.72. The current record of 9:57 was set by OA in 2012.

Second place finishers for the Lady Twisters were Ricke (200m dash) and 4 x 400 relay team (Madelyn Maier, Meredith Maier, Haleigh Reed and Ricke).


South Dearborn Invitational Team Results Batesville 177 Oldenburg Aca. 85 So. Dearborn 64 Rising Sun 52 Switzerland Co. 45 Franklin Co. 33 South Ripley 32 Lawrenceburg 1