Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

April 22, 2014

BHS takes two from Lawrenceburg

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — The weather was good and the outcomes were even better for the Batesville High School track and field teams.

Batesville traveled to Lawrenceburg and left with a pair of victories.

The Lady Bulldogs won every event and finished with a team score of 111 points, which was 101 better than the host Lady Tigers.

The boys won all but three events to post a 94-29 victory.

Two-time individual event winners for the girls included Ginny Westerfeld (100 and 200m dash), Kim Tidman (high jump and long jump) and Cassie Reverman (shot put and discus).

Other event winners for the Lady Bulldogs were Brooke Hartman (100m hurdles), Audrey Hall (400m dash), Clare Bruns (300m hurdles), Mary Poltrack (1,600m run), Kelsey Gausman (800m run) and Maria Wessel (3,200m run).

Kevin Bedel (long jump and discus) and Matt Dennis (110 and 300m hurdles) were both double winners in individual events on the boys side.

Single event winners included Nathan Longstreth (high jump), Cole Nuhring (1,600m run), John Moody (400m dash), Garrett Yorn (800m run) and Chris Riffle (3,200m run).

Both 4 x 100m relay teams were victorious. Michael Tunny, Zach Mears, Jacob Koehne and Tanner Ayette won for the boys, while Beth Werner, Tidman, Sophie Meadows and Ginny Westerfeld triumphed in the girls race.

Moody, Yorn, Tunny, Peter Heil won the 4 x 400m relay as did Gausman, Bruns, Grace Yeaton and Hall.

Nuhring, Yorn, Caleb Moster and Connor Bell won the 4 x 800m relay in the boys division, while Mary Poltrack, Sarah Poltrack, Yeaton and Gausman claimed the top spot for the girls.

Second place honors went to Tom Chaffee (high jump), Alison Muckerheide (long jump), Jordan Moorman (discus), Sarah Call (discus), Cody Reer (shot put), Samantha Heidlage (shot put), Molly Weigel (400m dash), Mary Poltrack (800m run), Madeleine Robben (200m dash), Trent Barnett (3,200m run), Kylie Lehman (3,200m run), Moster (800m run), Bruns (100m hurdles), Heil (100 and 400m dash), Meadows (100m dash), Bell (1,600m run), Yeaton (1,600m run) and Tunny (200m dash).