Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

December 12, 2012

Lady Bulldogs silence Franklin County

The Herald-Tribune

— The Batesville High School varsity girls basketball team extended Franklin County’s losing skid to seven games with a 41-18 victory Tuesday evening.

It was not much of a game from the start.

The Lady Bulldogs gave up just three points in the first quarter and only two in the second. This allowed coach Matt Maple’s crew to stretch a five point lead to 17 by halftime.

The second half was much of the same, but the Lady Wildcats were able to put a few more points on the scoreboard.

Maple was able to get a variety of players quality minutes and it was reflected in the scoring output. Seven different players scored with AJ Connelly leading the way with 12 points and six rebounds. Brooke Rohlfing added nine points and grabbed a team-high nine rebounds. Bailey Baumer also chipped in nine points and led with five assists.

The Lady Bulldogs are now 7-3 on the season, while Franklin County falls to 1-8.

The Batesville junior varsity squad was a 35-23 winners over the Lady Wildcats.

Leading 14-10 at the end of the first quarter, the Lady Bulldogs turned up the defensive effort and held their opponents scoreless in the second to take a 20-10 lead at halftime.

The lead grew to 16 points over the next six minutes to set up a routine fourth.

Kelsey Gausman led Batesville in scoring with 12 points followed by Tara Prickel with seven. Alyssa Dudley was the team’s top rebounder with seven boards. Samantha Heidlage was second with six rebounds.

Varsity Scoring

Batesville (41) - Bradford 1-0-1-2-3; Forbeck 0-0-0-0-0; Thomas 1-0-1-3-3; Hartman 2-0-0-0-4; Roell 0-0-0-0-0; Baumer 4-0-1-2-9; Dudley 0-0-0-0-0; Rohlfing 4-0-1-2-9; Paul 0-0-1-2-1; Connelly 5-0-2-2-12; Totals 17-0-7-13-41.

Franklin County (18) - Bentz 0-1-5-6-8; Koors 0-0-0-0-0; Kocher 1-0-0-0-2; Maples 3-0-0-0-6; Powell 1-0-0-0-2; Ronnebaum 0-0-0-0-0; Totals 5-1-5-6-18.

Junior Varsity Scoring

Batesville (35) - Dudley 4, Forbeck 2, Longstreth 2, Gausman 12, Prickel 7, Roell 0, Caplinger 0, Heidlage 8.

Franklin County (23) - Schell 4, Powell 3, Loman 3, Spurlock 2, Robben 6, Reed 3, Leffingwell 2.