Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

October 8, 2013

Lady Twisters place first at invitational

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — The Oldenburg Academy Lady Twisters made a statement on Thursday at the annual Greensburg Invitational.

The Lady Twisters placed four runners in the Top 10 and all five in the Top 15 as they went on to place first in the team competition with a score of 33 points.

The Batesville Lady Bulldogs were second with 60 points. The previously undefeated Lady Bulldogs were expected to be Oldenburg’s best competition at the meet.

Oldenburg standout Sarah Billingsley gradually pulled away from the field and went on to post a relatively easy victory. Billingsley crossed the finish line in a winning time of 18:59.

North Decatur’s Megan Hoover was second overall with a time of 19:27.

Not far behind Hoover was Oldenburg Academy’s Meredith Maier. Maier was third with a time of 19:35.

Lady Twisters Rachel Billingsley and Ashley Sedler helped secure a team title by placing ahead of the first three Batesville runners. Billingsley and Sedler finished within steps of each other for seventh and eighth with times of 20:39.

Kirsten Ricke placed 14th overall for the Lady Twisters with a time of 21:27.

Other OA runners included Madelyn Maier (19th) and Haleigh Reed (29th).

The Lady Bulldogs were solid in their second place finish.

Mary Poltrack, Sarah Poltrack and Grace Yeaton filled the ninth, 10th and 11th positions. Mary Poltrack crossed the line in a time of of 20:51, while Sarah Poltrack completed the course in 20:55. Yeaton was just 12 seconds behind Sarah Poltrack.

Kelsey Gausman was 13th overall in a time of 21:22 to give the Lady Bulldogs four Top 15 finishers.

Maria Wessel ran a good race for the Lady Bulldogs and placed 17th overall with a time of 22:04.

Other Batesville runners included Kylie Lehman in 24th and Breanna Hartman in 40th.

The Connersville Lady Spartans finished third in the team competition with a score of 71 followed by Greensburg (87) and East Central (161). Franklin County, South Dearborn, North Decatur and Hauser rounded out the nine team field.