Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

October 4, 2013

BHS hosts 13th annual cross country invitational

Lady Bulldogs remain undefeated

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — The Batesville Bulldogs hosted their 13th annual Batesville Cross Country Invitational.

Nine schools were divided into two divisions with the Batesville girls in the “Small School” division.

The Lady Bulldogs dominated the four team field with a team score of 20 points. The Jac-Cen-Del Lady Eagles were second with 58 followed by North Decatur (69) and Milan (92).

Megan Hoover of North Decatur was the overall race winner for both divisions with a time of 20:39.

The Lady Bulldogs were led by freshman Mary Poltrack in second overall with a time of 21:20. Sarah Poltrack, Grace Yeaton, Kelsey Gausman and Maria Wessel all came in one right after another placing third through sixth place in the division standings. Kylie Lehman was 10th with teammate Breanna Hartman in 11th.

Connersville won the “Large School” division with a team score of 26 points. Seymour was second with 61 followed by South Dearborn (67), East Central (89) and Franklin County (97).

Mugline:BHS boys place second

The boys’ competition included a total of 11 schools with Batesville’s division having five.

The Bulldogs raced to a second place finish in their division with a score of 32 points, which was just one behind South Ripley. North Decatur was third with 83 followed by Jac-Cen-Del (96) and Milan (130).

Batesville was led by junior Cole Nuhring with a second place finish in the division and time of 18:21.

Right behind Nuhring was teammates Caleb Moster (18:42) and Connor Bell (19:00) in third and fourth, respectively.

Other Batesville runners included Alex Batta (10th), Garrett Yorn (13th), Trent Barnett (14th) and Calvin Lehman (19th).

Austin Alley of South Ripley won the Small School division in a time of 17:47.

The race’s overall winner was Jack Tormoehlen with a time of 16:57.

Tormoehlen led the Owls to victory in the “Large School” division. South Dearborn (49) was 25 points back in second place followed by Connersville (78) and Rushville (104).