Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

February 14, 2013

St. Louis CYO team wins tournament

The Herald-Tribune

BATESVILLE — The St. Louis CYO basketball team defeated St. Anthony 54-30 to claim the 2013 Deanery title.

“All year this team has played together,” coach Roger Dietz commented. “This was truly a team effort not only today but all season long.

“In all the years I have coached, this is one of the most enjoyable teams to be around. They all new what they had to do and they accomplished what we set out to do this season,” he added.

The Bruins avenged a seven point loss to St. Anthony earlier in the season.

The first half was a very competitive game with neither team leading by more than four points.

Dylan Cook hit 3-pointer at the buzzer to give St. Louis a 24-21 halftime lead. That shot gave St. Louis the momentum they needed heading into the second half, according to Dietz.

Defensively, the Bruins held St. Anthony to only  five points in the third quarter as they took an 11 point lead into the fourth quarter.

Ben Wilson and Connor Dickey led St. Louis in scoring with 12 points apiece, while Alec Giesting score 10. Both Dylan Cook and Michael Bryan added seven.

St. Louis finished the season with a record of 14-1.

Tournament Most Valuable Players

Connor Dickey, St. Louis

Ben Wilson, St. Louis

Brady Hertel, St. Michaels