Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

January 21, 2013

Bulldogs fourth at conference wrestling tournament

The Herald-Tribune

BATESVILLE — Bulldogs fourth at conference tourney

Lawrenceburg High School played host to the annual Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference wrestling tournament on Saturday.

The South Dearborn Knights wrestled their way to the team title with a score of 184 points. East Central was second (173.5) followed by Greensburg (131) and Batesville (123.5).

The Bulldogs were wrestling without a couple varsity performers, which impacted their final standing, according to coach Mick Reindorf.

“We were short a couple guys due to illness and injury and that put us out of the running for the team title,” Reindorf commented. “South Dearborn had 12 of their 14 kids place in the top four.

“They have an outstanding program and they should do very well in the upcoming sectional,” he added.

The Bulldogs finished with one individual conference champion.

Jarett Hooten (195-lbs) went 3-0 on the day with all of his victories coming via pins. Hooten (29-3) is not just two pins away from breaking the BHS single season mark of 23, which is currently held by South Dearborn assistant coach Chris Nobbe.

Daniel Howard (182-lbs), Will Amberger (170-lbs) and John Moody (106-lbs) each recorded second place finishes for the Bulldogs.

Howard (25-6) was 1-1 on the day with his loss coming in the title match against Franklin County’s Luke Harnishfeger.

Amberger (27-7) was 2-1 in his quest for a title. He lost to conference MVP K.C. Hedger of Lawrenceburg.

Moody (28-4) had nine takedowns over his three matches. He lost to Franklin County’s Gage Pace in the finals.

Third place finishers for the Bulldogs were Anthony Gartenman (138-lbs) and Cody Haakinson (145-lbs), while Matthew Linkel (160-lbs), Neal Nobbe (152-lbs) and Zach Mears (132-lbs) each placed fourth.