Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana


February 4, 2014

Bulldogs advance four wrestlers to Richmond regional

BATESVILLE — A field of nine teams converged on Franklin County High School for the annual sectional tournament.

The Batesville Bulldogs finished in fifth ahead of Connersville, Milan, Rushville, and Lawrenceburg. South Dearborn racked up the most points to place first. They were followed by   Franklin County, East Central, and Union County.

The top four individuals from each weight class get to move on to the regional round.

The Bulldogs were able to put four wrestlers in the finals, resulting in one champion and three second place honors.

Ben Westerfeld  (132-lbs.) was the team’s lone sectional champion. The BHS seniormade short work of his first two opponents with a pair of pins.  Westerfeld needed overtime to claim the sectional title over Franklin County’s Phillip Orschell. He won the match by a score of 9-7.

Michael Deal (113-lbs.), Neal Nobbe (160-lbs.) and Will Amberger (170-lbs.) each wrestled their way to a second place finish.

Deal entered the finals after pinning opponents from Connersville (Redd) and Rushville (Roszell). The BHS freshman faced off against Union County’s Cam Coffman and came up short by a 6-2 margin.

Nobbe pinned Lawrenceburg ‘s Sam Tibbitts before beating longtime rival Cody Steele of Connersville.  These two wins moved Neal to the finals meeting senior Max Dole of East Central.  The two wrestlers went the distance with Dole coming out on top 12-4.

Amberger pinned his way to the finals by beating Franklin County’s Dustin Foreman and  Emilio Aquino-Morales of Union County.   Amberger battled rival Colton Gonzalez of Connersville in the finals and suffered an 8-2 loss.

All four wrestlers will be advancing to the regionals this Saturday at Richmond.

Levi Nordmeyer (182-lbs.) wrestled his way to a fifth place finish. Nordmeyer pinned  Joe Haarmeyer of Union County.

John Moody (120-lbs.) finished the day in sixth place after pinning Rushville’s Bailey Ford.

Other wrestlers competing at sectionals included Hunter Fetters, Nick Schneider, Chris Schene, Xavier King, Derek Davidson and Zach Strub.

Text Only
  • spt - bv072514 - Lumbermen team Lumbermen sweep pair of doubleheaders In Vintage Baseball Association action, the Batesville Lumbermen hosted the Indianapolis Hoosiers Saturday, July 19, in Oldenburg as part of the Freudenfest festivities. Batesville Lumbermen are members of the Vintage Baseball Association, playing by

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Coaches name state's top high school basketball players The 12th annual Indiana Basketball Coaches Association/Indiana High School Athletic Association Top 100 Showcase events are slated for July 23 (girls) and July 24 (boys) at Ben Davis High School in Indianapolis.The events are designed to give exposur

    July 22, 2014

  • spt - bv071814 - Babe Ruth Tournament breakdown GRAPHIC Batesville hosts major Babe Ruth Tournament Batesville’s team made it to the quarterfinals in the 10-and-under Central Indiana Babe Ruth Tournament hosted at The Plex here July 10-13. Muncie eliminated Batesville Saturday afternoon, July 12.Riley defeated Muncie and Mooresville-Wilson won over

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Grant will fund museum's film project A $12,000 grant from the Efroymson Family Fund has been awarded for the historic film project at the Milan ‘54 Hoosiers Museum, said fundraiser Timothy Molinari.The film project will include for the first ever individual interviews from all 11 surviv

    July 18, 2014

  • spt - bv071514 - AL baseball Batesville surprised in ninth inning In American Legion League baseball, Batesville's Prell-Bland Post 271 team battled it out vs. Brookville in a three-and-a-half hour game Wednesday night, July 9, at Liberty Park. Batesville took the lead 2-0 in the third inning. They stretched their

    July 15, 2014 1 Photo

  • Alliance could bring NASCAR changes Whether they like it or not, NASCAR officials could be looking at changes in how television and sponsor money is divided with competitors and efforts to reduce costs of the sport.Last weekend the nine biggest teams in the Sprint Cup series announced

    July 11, 2014

  • SPORTS BRIEFS BHS football parents will meetThe Batesville High School Football Parents Club organizational meeting for all parents of new players is Wednesday, July 16, at 6:30 p.m. in the BHS cafeteria (enter through back doors).Info: Angie Bedel, 934-4012.Youth

    July 11, 2014

  • U.S. loss on World Cup pitch was a win back home The 2014 World Cup is over for America.The United States was knocked out in the Round of 16 by Belgium, 2-1, in a match with extra time that was intoxicating and crushing.The U.S. team was oh so close. That’s how sports go: One day you’re fighting fo

    July 8, 2014

  • spt - bv070314 - BHS baseball awards Program celebrates baseball season The Batesville High School baseball awards program took place Sunday, June 22, reported coach Alex Davis. “The program went really well and it was a great season for the Bulldogs. It was the first time we had won sectional since 2005 and our second s

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Stingrays' season winding down On Thursday, June 26, the Batesville Stingrays traveled to Hidden Valley to win their final dual meet of the season. Several swimmers earned personal best times at least 10 seconds faster than their previous attempts. These swimmers include Rachel La

    July 8, 2014

NCAA Photo Roundup
NCAA Top 25
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.