Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

January 31, 2014

Two BHS wrestlers win conference titles

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — The weather forced some delays in the annual Eastern Indiana Athletic Conference wrestling tournament, but the wait was worth it for the Greensburg Pirates.

The Pirates claimed their first conference team title in 28 years and it coincided with the conference’s expansion to eight teams. Greensburg tallied 158 points followed closely by Franklin County with 154. Connersville was third with 135. Batesville High School was found down the list at sixth with 88 points, which was ahead of Rushville and Lawrenceburg.

The Batesville Bulldogs had two wrestlers claim individual titles.

Freshman Michael Deal was a winner at 113-lbs. for the Bulldogs. Deal  drew a first round forfeit and followed up with a win over Zach Roszell of Rushville. Despite falling behind 7-3, he went on to defeat Franklin County’s Mike Weber 8-7 in the finals.

Batesville senior Ben Westerfeld needed three victories to win the 132-lb. weight class. Westerfeld defeated Robbins of South Dearborn in the opener and Franklin County’s Phillip Orschell in round two. He triumphed 5-3 in overtime against Adam Oyler of Lawrenceburg in the finals.

The Bulldogs had a pair of second place finishers - Neal Nobbe and Jarret Hooten.

After a win over South Dearborn’s Austin Draper in round one, Nobbe lost to Connersville senior Cody Steele. Nobbe (22-6) bounced back to post wins over Rushville’s James McGlaughlin and Joe Buening of Greensburg in the consolation bracket to finish third in the 160-lb. class. He defeated Buening by a score of 7-4.

Hooten (24-4) had a similar route to a third place finish in the 195-lb. class. The BHS senior won by forfeit in round one then suffered a loss to Layne Harnishfeger of Franklin County. Hooten recorded an 11-1  win over Greensburg’s Dylan Cain and later Ryan Mitts of East Central 2-0 in the battle for third.

Batesville sophomore John Moody (10-11) lost in a match for third place to Franklin County’s Gage Pace. Moody won a pair of match in the consolation bracket. He defeated Ford of  Rushville and Hines of South Dearborn.