Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

October 5, 2012

Menser honored at Indiana State University

The Herald-Tribune

Photo and story courtesy Kevin Jenison, Media Relations Coordinator, Indiana State University athletics.

TERRE HAUTE  – Humbled and honored were the keywords of the night along with praise for coaches and teammates as Indiana State graduates Melanie Boeglin, Nate Green, Michael Menser, and Matt Renn were inducted into the 21st Class of the Indiana State Athletics Hall of Fame. The induction ceremony was sponsored by Old National Bank.

The four will also be featured in the Indiana State Homecoming parade Saturday morning in downtown Terre Haute and will be introduced during halftime ceremonies at the Indiana State-Missouri State football game which kicks off at 3 p.m. (ET).

Boeglin was the first induction of the evening with the former Sycamore and the first to say how blessed she was to be going into the Hall of Fame with three great basketball players who are also great individuals.

Green, Menser, and Renn were returned the compliment to Boeglin and each credited her with being the best player of the class.

Menser and Renn echoed Green’s recognition of the support they received while playing together from coaches, teammates, and family.

“I could not have been more blessed than to play for a man like Coach Waltman,” Menser said.

“We could not have had a more unbelievable support group around us,” Renn said.

Many stories were told by the three men’s basketball players and each said that Royce Waltman was a big influence in their becoming the best players they could be.

Menser and Renn were among the first recruiting class of  Coach Waltman.

“His style fit me to a tee,” Renn said. “His passion for competition and his knowledge of the game just took me to another level.”

Indiana State had four straight winning seasons during Menser and Rennís playing career but it was the two conference championships and the two straight NCAA appearances that each remember the most.

“Bottom line was that we just wanted to win,” Menser said.

Menser was named to the MVC All-Newcomer Team in 1998, was named to the 2000 Honorable Mention All-MVC team, and was named to the All-MVC second team in 2001. He was also a three-time selection to the MVC Men’s Basketball All-Academic team three straight years.

He was named the Most Outstanding Player of the MVC Tournament in 2001 after averaging 21.0 points and 6.3 assists over the Sycamores three-game championship run. He also led the nation in assist/turnover ratio as a senior (184/46, 4:1) and recording nine turnover-less games during the season.

He holds the school record in career three point field goals made (283) and career three point field goals attempted (727) while also holding the top spot in three point field goals made in a season (92 in 2000-2001) and three point field goals attempted in a season (239 in 2000-2001). Menser also finished his career fourth in steals (188) and fifth in assists (184).

Green, Menser, and Renn join 24 former men’s basketball players who have already been inducted into the Indiana State Athletics Hall of Fame. Those include Bob Barker, Larry Bird, Ward Brown, Jerry Newsom, Carl Nicks, George Pillow, Sam Richardson, Charles E. (Butch) Wade, and John Sherman Williams along with multi-sport athletes Dick Atha, Birch Evans Bayh, Roy Burris, Charles A. (Cocky) Bush, Jim Carr, George Chestnut, Ray Goddard, Duane M. Klueh, Dr. John Miklozek, Lenny Rzeszewski, Howard L. Sharpe, Raymond Sparks, Fred Wampler, Paul (Billy) Williams, and Paul Wolf.

John Sherman, senior assistant athletics director at Indiana State, served as Master of Ceremonies for the induction ceremony which was held at the Sycamore Banquet Center in the Hulman Memorial Student Union. Dr. Daniel J. Bradley, president of Indiana State, welcomed the inductees, their family and friends, and past inductees to the ceremony with Dan Doan, Region CEO for Old National Bank, also extending congratulatory remarks.

Ron Prettyman, Director of Athletics at Indiana State, closed out the evening with his concluding remarks which included a note that Boeglin is the first Hall of Fame inductee that played during his time at Indiana State.