Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

Opinion
  • IRS must be held accountable Hoosiers frequently tell me that they are frustrated by the way Washington exempts itself from the same requirements our government puts on hard-working citizens.As a result, a huge trust deficit exists between the American people and Washington. One

    July 1, 2014

  • Honor Gwynn by remembering where he went wrong Tony Gwynn’s life is worth celebrating. He was a first-ballot Hall of Fame player with the San Diego Padres who owned a .338 lifetime batting average. He was an All-Star who didn’t require celebrity treatment.Then there was the tragic side of Gwynn,

    July 1, 2014

  • Sherman House will stay open Sherman House will stay open Dear Editor,My name is Teresa Fitzpatrick, manager and events coordinator at the Sherman House Restaurant and Inn. The Sherman House has been an integral part of Batesville’s downtown since its opening in 1865. I would li

    July 1, 2014

  • Don't duplicate Germany's situation As the Obama administration recently announced a sweeping new rule for coal-fired power plants, my mind immediately turned to our friends in Western Europe.I served as U.S. ambassador to Germany from 2001-05 and had a front-row seat for the beginning

    June 27, 2014

  • Baseball should reinstate Pete Rose It would be simple to study Pete Rose’s record as a player with the Cincinnati Reds and Philadelphia Phillies and determine whether he should be elected to baseball’s Hall of Fame. Certainly. Absolutely. Without a doubt.But because of Rose’s foolish

    June 27, 2014

  • The lesson Congress should learn from the VA scandal Like other federal scandals before it, the mess involving Veterans Affairs hospitals has followed a well-trod path. First comes the revelation of misdoing. Then comes the reaction: a shocked public, an administration on the defensive and grandstandin

    June 27, 2014

  • An open letter to 2014 high school graduates Congratulations to the 2014 graduating class and to the family, friends and school staff that surround and support every graduating student!As young adults, you each possess special talents and interests. As new graduates, you are now going forth to

    June 27, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoJefferson Proving Ground south of Versailles was one of 86 military bases Congress voted to close, said U.S. 9th District Rep. Lee Hamilton, a Democratic congressional candidate. The major issue remaining was funds for the cleanup.A plan

    June 24, 2014

  • It's always a trip before the trip begins I am not a good packer for trips.A few days before I travel, a co-worker will ask, “Are you packed yet?” The answer is always the same: “I haven’t even done laundry yet.”So there I was in our kitchen a few Wednesday nights ago at 1 a.m. baking cookie

    June 24, 2014

  • Iraq War: Valor and malfeasance INDIANAPOLIS – We should remember Staff Sgt. Richard Blakley of Plainfield. And Lance Cpl. Matthew Smith of Anderson, Spec. Gregory Paul Sanders of Hobart and Sgt. CraigBoling of Elkhart.These were Hoosiers who answered their nation’s patriotic call

    June 24, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook