Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

Opinion
  • NFL blackmails fans with threats of playoff blackouts The National Football League has proven it is good at blocking and tackling. Once again it shows that it's not bad when it comes to blackmail, either. That's been clear recently with news that three of last weekend's playoff games were in jeopardy of

    January 7, 2014

  • opn - bv010314 - Hayden, Maureen Setting priorities for the new year Every year at about this time, Statehouse reporters like me ask lawmakers what their priorities will be for the coming year. The more interesting inquiry is made by the people at Ball State's Bowen Center for Public Affairs because they ask Hoosiers

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • opn - bv010314 - Ziemke, Cindy 12-03 Paying it forward in 2014 Over the last couple months, I made a point to look through local newspapers for stories about people or organizations that went out of their way to share of their time, talent or resources even though the holiday season wasn't upon them. I want to s

    January 3, 2014 1 Photo

  • Gift certificates help fund students' trip Dear Editor, The Batesville Middle School eighth-grade class would like to thank the community and especially the following businesses for their support during our gift certificate fundraiser: Cricket Ridge Restaurant, Classic Pizza, Lil' Charlie's,

    December 24, 2013

  • Snowy kindness is noticed Dear Editor, I would like to thank the "elf" who has been shoveling the sidewalk in front of The Dance Studio. I can't physically do this anymore and would like to thank whoever is responsible. It's a very nice gesture on their part, and I'm very app

    December 24, 2013

  • Increased tax would help fund programs INDIANAPOLIS - While you're imbibing your favorite Christmas spirits this season, consider this: Would you be willing to pay a few more pennies for the alcohol spicing up your eggnog? That's a question that a coalition of criminal justice and mental

    December 24, 2013

  • Historical society offers thanks Dear Editor, The Batesville Area Historical Society would like to thank everyone who attended our Snowflake Christmas Luncheon Dec. 4 at Hillcrest Country Club. This is our annual benefit to finance the historical museum. We would also like to thank

    December 24, 2013

  • Why can't Congress aim higher? Congressional budget negotiators are moving to meet a Dec.13 deadline to produce, well, something. For weeks, we've been told to keep expectations low. There'll be no "grand bargain" negotiators say. Commentators believe that even the narrowest agree

    December 6, 2013

  • opn - bv120613 - Ziemke, Cindy as of 12-03 Our contributions to culture On Dec. 11, 1816, Indiana was admitted as the 19th state to join the union, making this year our state's 197th birthday. Knowing Indiana's history is important as it allows us to truly understand the significance of our rich past and appreciate the c

    December 6, 2013 1 Photo

  • Computers, 'a great addition to our lives' Dear Editor, The Batesville Community Education Foundation graciously awarded Batesville Middle School with a $15,000 grant. This helped pay a portion of each student's technology fee. The students and staff of BMS would like to thank the BCEF for t

    December 3, 2013

Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook