Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

November 16, 2010

True beauty will be seen

--- — It seems like the world has an obsession with beauty and looking younger. All you have to do is turn on the TV or open a magazine to see hundreds of advertisements for products that promise to help you improve your looks or make you look 10, 20, 30, even 40 years younger. There are skin-care manufacturers that claim they have the No. 1 dermatologist recommended product. With hundreds of moisturizers and daily cleansers out there, how do you determine which is the right one for you? Then you come to the makeup. For the foundation, there are not only different kinds for different skin types, but every shade imaginable. The mascara is even worse, with different ones for volume, length, curves and definition. After you’re done with your face, you need to work on the hair. Some trust a favorite stylist to apply their favorite shade or highlights, while others choose to do it themselves at home. Whatever the case, most probably have the same outcome in mind – to cover up the grays. And what about all those commercials for weight-loss products? More than likely if you have the TV tuned in to any of the major networks, you’ve seen celebrities trying to get you hooked on Slim Fast, Nutrisystem, Weight Watchers or Jenny Craig. Aging is a natural process and for as long as we live, we will all go through it. Most of us want to do what we can to look good, and there’s nothing wrong with having a regular exercise program if you’re trying to lose weight and live a healthy lifestyle. But what signifies true beauty? Is it someone who spends hours with makeup artists and hair stylists before appearing in front of the camera? Is it someone who is never satisfied with what he/she looks like so they keep going on crash diets to get smaller and smaller? And what about the before and after photos companies use to show us how effective their anti-aging formula, makeup or hair product is? Doesn’t it seem like the before picture always shows the person with a sad, gloomy face, while the after one shows the person smiling from ear to ear? Of course, they’re going to look nicer when they’re happy. I’ll be the first to admit that I need to exercise more and eat healthier to lose a few pounds, actually quite a few pounds. In addition, I do color my hair and should do it again soon because quite a few gray hairs are beginning to shine through. I know I’ll never look like those Victoria’s Secret models, and honestly, I don’t want to. Sure, they’re very pretty on the outside, but I believe true beauty is what’s on the inside. The most beautiful people I know are like that because they are kind to others and treat them with respect. Maybe if each of us took the time to look past the outward appearances and focus on what’s really important, we would become obsessed with true beauty and see it every time we look in the mirror.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Humane society support must be ongoing Dear Editor,There are two words that are short and simple. Two words that can mean the world to some, but yet sometimes cannot seem like enough. Those two words are “thank you.”The Franklin County Humane Society is not only thankful, but so very grat

    August 1, 2014

  • Wanted: concerned board candidates The Batesville Community School Corp. board has an important duty to fulfill – appoint a District 3 trustee due to Chris Lowery’s exit because of a conflict of interest with a new job. The new trustee must be named by remaining board members within 3

    August 1, 2014

  • A larger energy bill is on the way If there is one monthly bill you can count on, it’s your electricity bill. I think Hoosiers across the state can agree, electricity is something we can’t do without. And there is only so much we can save by using less. Every additional dollar spent o

    August 1, 2014

  • Expiring term heightens urgency INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law and thus allow children of undocumented immigrants t

    August 1, 2014

  • Children here are waiting for mentors From the seat I occupy every day, I have a window to the future of Greater Cincinnati’s children.I see children who want to do well in school and who want to stay out of trouble. I see parents who want to help their children, and are willing to reach

    August 1, 2014

  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook