Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

September 27, 2013

It is time for more jobs

INDIANAPOLIS – We need jobs.

In the five years since the mortgage bubble burst, Wall Street went into meltdown and the taxpayers from Main Street bailed the 1 percenters out, I survey friends and family who, in 2007 were quite doing well.

And today, most of them struggle.

We live in a state with a persistent jobless rate of 8.4 percent, and well over 250,000 Hoosiers are officially unemployed. Hundreds of thousands more are underemployed, working two or three jobs. The U.S. Census Bureau reported this week that while the median U.S. household income is at $51,017, Indiana is at 9 percent below, at $46,707.

Utterly unacceptable.

“Generally, we’re looking at sort of a lost decade for Hoosier families,” said Derek Thomas, a senior policy analyst for the Indiana Community Action Association. He told the Associated Press that unless effective policy changes are made, the next decade is likely to follow the trend.

I had lunch with a boyhood friend of mine from Michigan City, Rob Jagger, who owns Old Fort Building Supply in South Bend.

When I asked the inevitable “how’s business” question, I got that pained look, the kind of expression one has when they batten down the hatches. I see that look from businessmen all across the state.

The problem is, this storm that began in September 2008 is still raging, even though the Great Recession officially ended some two or three years ago.

Washington, D.C. is in a state of gridlock. There are no solutions to be found with that dysfunctional mob of pretenders.

What could we do?

Jagger observed that in scores of Indiana communities, tax abatements are given to businesses willing to relocate or expand.

“What about a tax abatement for someone who wants to build a new house?” he asked.

It would work like this: you want to build a new house, or add on an in-law quarter for Mom, who just ain’t what she used to be. So the state could come up with a program that grants you a five-year property tax abatement, just like the big corporations and businesses get.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Humane society support must be ongoing Dear Editor,There are two words that are short and simple. Two words that can mean the world to some, but yet sometimes cannot seem like enough. Those two words are “thank you.”The Franklin County Humane Society is not only thankful, but so very grat

    August 1, 2014

  • Wanted: concerned board candidates The Batesville Community School Corp. board has an important duty to fulfill – appoint a District 3 trustee due to Chris Lowery’s exit because of a conflict of interest with a new job. The new trustee must be named by remaining board members within 3

    August 1, 2014

  • A larger energy bill is on the way If there is one monthly bill you can count on, it’s your electricity bill. I think Hoosiers across the state can agree, electricity is something we can’t do without. And there is only so much we can save by using less. Every additional dollar spent o

    August 1, 2014

  • Expiring term heightens urgency INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law and thus allow children of undocumented immigrants t

    August 1, 2014

  • Children here are waiting for mentors From the seat I occupy every day, I have a window to the future of Greater Cincinnati’s children.I see children who want to do well in school and who want to stay out of trouble. I see parents who want to help their children, and are willing to reach

    August 1, 2014

  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Couple Channel Grief Into Soldiers' Retreat WWI Aviation Still Alive at Aerodrome in NY Raw: Rescuers at Taiwan Explosion Scene Raw: Woman Who Faced Death Over Faith in N.H. Clinton Before 9-11: Could Have Killed Bin Laden Netanyahu Vows to Destroy Hamas Tunnels Obama Slams Republicans Over Lawsuit House Leaders Trade Blame for Inaction Malaysian PM: Stop Fighting in Ukraine Cantor Warns of Instability, Terror in Farewell Ravens' Ray Rice: 'I Made a Huge Mistake' Florida Panther Rebound Upsets Ranchers Small Plane Crash in San Diego Parking Lot Busy Franco's Not Afraid of Overexposure Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook