Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

September 27, 2013

It is time for more jobs

INDIANAPOLIS – We need jobs.

In the five years since the mortgage bubble burst, Wall Street went into meltdown and the taxpayers from Main Street bailed the 1 percenters out, I survey friends and family who, in 2007 were quite doing well.

And today, most of them struggle.

We live in a state with a persistent jobless rate of 8.4 percent, and well over 250,000 Hoosiers are officially unemployed. Hundreds of thousands more are underemployed, working two or three jobs. The U.S. Census Bureau reported this week that while the median U.S. household income is at $51,017, Indiana is at 9 percent below, at $46,707.

Utterly unacceptable.

“Generally, we’re looking at sort of a lost decade for Hoosier families,” said Derek Thomas, a senior policy analyst for the Indiana Community Action Association. He told the Associated Press that unless effective policy changes are made, the next decade is likely to follow the trend.

I had lunch with a boyhood friend of mine from Michigan City, Rob Jagger, who owns Old Fort Building Supply in South Bend.

When I asked the inevitable “how’s business” question, I got that pained look, the kind of expression one has when they batten down the hatches. I see that look from businessmen all across the state.

The problem is, this storm that began in September 2008 is still raging, even though the Great Recession officially ended some two or three years ago.

Washington, D.C. is in a state of gridlock. There are no solutions to be found with that dysfunctional mob of pretenders.

What could we do?

Jagger observed that in scores of Indiana communities, tax abatements are given to businesses willing to relocate or expand.

“What about a tax abatement for someone who wants to build a new house?” he asked.

It would work like this: you want to build a new house, or add on an in-law quarter for Mom, who just ain’t what she used to be. So the state could come up with a program that grants you a five-year property tax abatement, just like the big corporations and businesses get.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

  • St. Andrews supports food program Dear Editor,St. Andrews Health Campus and its employees are committed to compassionate care that extends well beyond the residents St. Andrews serves. Executive director Gwen Reverman and her staff demonstrate their enduring commitment to this princi

    July 11, 2014

  • Golf classic support appreciated Dear Editor, Oldenburg Academy's 23rd Annual Pro-Am Golf Classic Committee would like to thank the many businesses and individuals who supported our golf outing, especially our event sponsors, food sponsors, advertising buyers and gift donors, along

    July 3, 2014

  • July 4 is a day to cherish liberty My name is John Hosbrook, and I died 216 years ago. My family has asked me to take you on a tour of our Patriot Past. They said you might need a refresher since Twitter, texting and TV dance shows have made you a mite forgetful. Why was I selected fo

    July 3, 2014

  • Homegrown spirits return to state fair INDIANAPOLIS - Mark Webb is counting on patrons of the Indiana State Fair to be better behaved this summer than they were in 1946, when a celebratory post-war crowd almost trashed the place. The bad behavior of beer drinkers 68 years ago is what led

    July 3, 2014

  • A dozen colleges do the conference shuffle The most tenured coach at the University of Louisville might not find joining a new athletic conference so special. But for tennis coach Rex Ecarma, the Cardinals’ move is a moment to celebrate.Ecarma has been at Louisville for 23 seasons, battling t

    July 3, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe Raw: Big Rig Stuck in Illinois Swamp
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook