Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

May 13, 2010

Athletic physicals a big success

BATESVILLE — Dear Editor, Wow! The first Margaret Mary Community Hospital- sponsored sports physicals were better attended than anyone expected. Thank you, student-athletes and parents, for supporting your individual school by attending this event and getting your sports physicals for the 2010-11 school year done and out of the way. Also, a special thank you to MMCH staff and the local physicians who donated their time to help our student-athletes and parents in these struggling economic times. The nominal $20 fee collected by MMCH is being donated back to the student-athletes’ athletic department. For Batesville High School and Batesville Middle School, this will be a great donation, helping us keep an athletic trainer on staff to serve the student- athletes’ health and well-being. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Carmen Pride, Eric Fledderman and Michele Werner, who organized the community service, and our local physicians – Dr. John Gryspeerdt, Dr. Gretchen Hartz, Dr. Elisabeth Kelley, Dr. Kim Kick and Dr. Ed Negovetich. The turnout, as mentioned, was outstanding. There were 189 student-athletes seen by the staff that single evening. Due to this success, we have already had some discussion and will be meeting in the very near future to solve the time dilemma. We saw the time factor as the only negative to the event. It is all our intentions to have each student-athlete’s physical completed in half an hour, but the main focus will still be to provide a very thorough and professional physical exam. The safety and welfare of our kids will never be sacrificed. Some of the ideas already shared are: 1. Have two separate nights; one night at Batesville Middle School for St. Louis and BMS student-athletes and the other night at Batesville High School for BHS and Oldenburg Academy student-athletes. 2. Have a time breakdown as per grade level of the student-athlete. 3. Solicit more help from our local physicians so more individuals are seen at one time. Again, thanks to everyone. If you have ideas or suggestions, please forward them to me at mferguson@batesville.k12.in.us. Mark Ferguson, Batesville High School athletic director

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

  • St. Andrews supports food program Dear Editor,St. Andrews Health Campus and its employees are committed to compassionate care that extends well beyond the residents St. Andrews serves. Executive director Gwen Reverman and her staff demonstrate their enduring commitment to this princi

    July 11, 2014

  • Golf classic support appreciated Dear Editor, Oldenburg Academy's 23rd Annual Pro-Am Golf Classic Committee would like to thank the many businesses and individuals who supported our golf outing, especially our event sponsors, food sponsors, advertising buyers and gift donors, along

    July 3, 2014

  • July 4 is a day to cherish liberty My name is John Hosbrook, and I died 216 years ago. My family has asked me to take you on a tour of our Patriot Past. They said you might need a refresher since Twitter, texting and TV dance shows have made you a mite forgetful. Why was I selected fo

    July 3, 2014

  • Homegrown spirits return to state fair INDIANAPOLIS - Mark Webb is counting on patrons of the Indiana State Fair to be better behaved this summer than they were in 1946, when a celebratory post-war crowd almost trashed the place. The bad behavior of beer drinkers 68 years ago is what led

    July 3, 2014

  • A dozen colleges do the conference shuffle The most tenured coach at the University of Louisville might not find joining a new athletic conference so special. But for tennis coach Rex Ecarma, the Cardinals’ move is a moment to celebrate.Ecarma has been at Louisville for 23 seasons, battling t

    July 3, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
The Carbon Trap: US Exports Global Warming UN Security Council Calls for Gaza Cease-fire Traditional African Dishes Teach Healthy Eating 13 Struck by Lightning on Calif. Beach Baseball Hall of Famers Inducted Israel, Hamas Trade Fire Despite Truce in Gaza Italy's Nibali Set to Win First Tour De France Raw: Shipwrecked Concordia Completes Last Voyage Raw: Sea Turtle Hatchlings Emerge From Nest Raw: Massive Dust Storm Covers Phoenix 12-hour Cease-fire in Gaza Fighting Begins Raw: Bolivian Dancers Attempt to Break Record Raw: Israel, Palestine Supporters Rally in US Raw: Air Algerie Flight 5017 Wreckage Virginia Governor Tours Tornado Aftermath Judge Faces Heat Over Offer to Help Migrant Kids Kangaroo Goes Missing in Oklahoma More M17 Bodies Return, Sanctions on Russia Grow Raw: Deadly Tornado Hits Virginia Campground Ohio State Marching Band Chief Fired After Probe
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook