Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

May 13, 2010

Athletic physicals a big success

BATESVILLE — Dear Editor, Wow! The first Margaret Mary Community Hospital- sponsored sports physicals were better attended than anyone expected. Thank you, student-athletes and parents, for supporting your individual school by attending this event and getting your sports physicals for the 2010-11 school year done and out of the way. Also, a special thank you to MMCH staff and the local physicians who donated their time to help our student-athletes and parents in these struggling economic times. The nominal $20 fee collected by MMCH is being donated back to the student-athletes’ athletic department. For Batesville High School and Batesville Middle School, this will be a great donation, helping us keep an athletic trainer on staff to serve the student- athletes’ health and well-being. Thank you, thank you, thank you to Carmen Pride, Eric Fledderman and Michele Werner, who organized the community service, and our local physicians – Dr. John Gryspeerdt, Dr. Gretchen Hartz, Dr. Elisabeth Kelley, Dr. Kim Kick and Dr. Ed Negovetich. The turnout, as mentioned, was outstanding. There were 189 student-athletes seen by the staff that single evening. Due to this success, we have already had some discussion and will be meeting in the very near future to solve the time dilemma. We saw the time factor as the only negative to the event. It is all our intentions to have each student-athlete’s physical completed in half an hour, but the main focus will still be to provide a very thorough and professional physical exam. The safety and welfare of our kids will never be sacrificed. Some of the ideas already shared are: 1. Have two separate nights; one night at Batesville Middle School for St. Louis and BMS student-athletes and the other night at Batesville High School for BHS and Oldenburg Academy student-athletes. 2. Have a time breakdown as per grade level of the student-athlete. 3. Solicit more help from our local physicians so more individuals are seen at one time. Again, thanks to everyone. If you have ideas or suggestions, please forward them to me at mferguson@batesville.k12.in.us. Mark Ferguson, Batesville High School athletic director

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Reader disagrees with senator Reader disagrees with senator Dear Editor, Senator Coats, a recent editorial titled, "Freeing Hoosier job creators," described your Sound Regulation Act. You said, "The bill would require every federal agency to engage in an extensive analysis to d

    April 15, 2014

  • Remembering those who defend our freedom When we send out our presession surveys each year, they generally show that Hoosiers are concerned with issues such as jobs and education, and rightfully so. While veterans' issues may not immediately come to mind as a pressing concern, many people w

    April 15, 2014

  • Moving up economic ladder begins in childhood New national research reveals that America is still a land of opportunity, but many Indiana communities rank poorly in fostering upward economic mobility for children and youth. According to Harvard University's Equality of Opportunity Project, despi

    April 8, 2014

  • Modest achievements for Gov. Pence INDIANAPOLIS - We aren't quite to the halfway point of Gov. Mike Pence's term, but he's now through his second Indiana General Assembly session and this week signed into law the state's first Pre-Kindergarten program, cut the corporate tax, and provi

    April 8, 2014

  • From the mayor Libraries are vital to communities WHEREAS, libraries help lives change in their communities, campuses and schools; WHEREAS, librarians work to meet the changing needs of their communities, including providing resources for everyone and bringing ser

    April 8, 2014

  • Hunters harvest less deer in 2013 It looks as if the 2013 season is coming in as the eighth best season for Indiana deer hunters. Statistics show hunters harvested fewer deer in the 2013 season than in each of the previous five seasons. Hearing the annual tally might be sobering new

    April 1, 2014

  • Salute military youth, too WHEREAS, thousands of brave Americans have demonstrated their courage and commitment to freedom by serving the armed forces of the United States of America in active duty posts in Afghanistan, Iraq and around the world; and WHEREAS, more than 19,000

    March 28, 2014

  • Retired baker grateful to customers Retired baker grateful to customers Dear Editor, Forty-one years ago I had a dream to open a cake shop. My three boys were young so I was only able to do cakes as a hobby. I baked and decorated cakes for 20 years after working a full-time job outsid

    March 25, 2014

  • Many OA high points this year Many OA high points this year Dear Editor, On behalf of the entire Oldenburg Academy family, I wish to say thank you to the Batesville/Oldenburg community, businesses, families, alums and various well-wishers whose support and encouragement meant so

    March 25, 2014

  • Letter to the editor Ziemke out of tune with constituents Dear Editor, In The Herald-Tribune article "Legislators reveal their thoughts on HJR-3" Feb. 21, our legislators revealed the reasoning for their votes on HJR-3, which would have amended the state Constitution to

    March 18, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook