Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 19, 2012

Let's be careful with choices this election

-- — Dear Editor,

We've read ads by Tammy Davis and letters by others this campaign season attempting to discredit the judgeship of Steven Cox. The Brookville American had to print a correction on the front page a few weeks ago stating that Tammy Davis had given them the wrong judge's name in one of her printed accusations. In another newspaper edition, her husband said that she would not apologize for incorrect information in another of her ads.

It's alarming that someone portraying herself to be qualified to judge others does not have the good character to apologize when proven wrong, doesn't thoroughly check the facts before making them public, or possibly purposely submits falsehoods to win an election!

Let's be careful what we choose to believe during this election. Our judges are very important to our community, and need to be chosen with great care.

In my opinion, the negative picture that the Davis campaign is trying to paint of Judge  Cox has been filled with errors, which gives us a glimpse into the character of Mrs. Davis. This should make any reader very leery of her qualifications to run an ethical court.

Please vote to re-elect Judge J. Steven Cox for Franklin County Circuit Court judge. We need a judge with experience, integrity, good character and maturity. We also need a judge who is ethical, adheres to the law and has compassion.

Steven Cox is that judge.

Sharon Womack,

Brookville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Reader disagrees with senator Reader disagrees with senator Dear Editor, Senator Coats, a recent editorial titled, "Freeing Hoosier job creators," described your Sound Regulation Act. You said, "The bill would require every federal agency to engage in an extensive analysis to d

    April 15, 2014

  • Remembering those who defend our freedom When we send out our presession surveys each year, they generally show that Hoosiers are concerned with issues such as jobs and education, and rightfully so. While veterans' issues may not immediately come to mind as a pressing concern, many people w

    April 15, 2014

  • Moving up economic ladder begins in childhood New national research reveals that America is still a land of opportunity, but many Indiana communities rank poorly in fostering upward economic mobility for children and youth. According to Harvard University's Equality of Opportunity Project, despi

    April 8, 2014

  • Modest achievements for Gov. Pence INDIANAPOLIS - We aren't quite to the halfway point of Gov. Mike Pence's term, but he's now through his second Indiana General Assembly session and this week signed into law the state's first Pre-Kindergarten program, cut the corporate tax, and provi

    April 8, 2014

  • From the mayor Libraries are vital to communities WHEREAS, libraries help lives change in their communities, campuses and schools; WHEREAS, librarians work to meet the changing needs of their communities, including providing resources for everyone and bringing ser

    April 8, 2014

  • Hunters harvest less deer in 2013 It looks as if the 2013 season is coming in as the eighth best season for Indiana deer hunters. Statistics show hunters harvested fewer deer in the 2013 season than in each of the previous five seasons. Hearing the annual tally might be sobering new

    April 1, 2014

  • Salute military youth, too WHEREAS, thousands of brave Americans have demonstrated their courage and commitment to freedom by serving the armed forces of the United States of America in active duty posts in Afghanistan, Iraq and around the world; and WHEREAS, more than 19,000

    March 28, 2014

  • Retired baker grateful to customers Retired baker grateful to customers Dear Editor, Forty-one years ago I had a dream to open a cake shop. My three boys were young so I was only able to do cakes as a hobby. I baked and decorated cakes for 20 years after working a full-time job outsid

    March 25, 2014

  • Many OA high points this year Many OA high points this year Dear Editor, On behalf of the entire Oldenburg Academy family, I wish to say thank you to the Batesville/Oldenburg community, businesses, families, alums and various well-wishers whose support and encouragement meant so

    March 25, 2014

  • Letter to the editor Ziemke out of tune with constituents Dear Editor, In The Herald-Tribune article "Legislators reveal their thoughts on HJR-3" Feb. 21, our legislators revealed the reasoning for their votes on HJR-3, which would have amended the state Constitution to

    March 18, 2014