Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 19, 2012

Let's be careful with choices this election

-- — Dear Editor,

We've read ads by Tammy Davis and letters by others this campaign season attempting to discredit the judgeship of Steven Cox. The Brookville American had to print a correction on the front page a few weeks ago stating that Tammy Davis had given them the wrong judge's name in one of her printed accusations. In another newspaper edition, her husband said that she would not apologize for incorrect information in another of her ads.

It's alarming that someone portraying herself to be qualified to judge others does not have the good character to apologize when proven wrong, doesn't thoroughly check the facts before making them public, or possibly purposely submits falsehoods to win an election!

Let's be careful what we choose to believe during this election. Our judges are very important to our community, and need to be chosen with great care.

In my opinion, the negative picture that the Davis campaign is trying to paint of Judge  Cox has been filled with errors, which gives us a glimpse into the character of Mrs. Davis. This should make any reader very leery of her qualifications to run an ethical court.

Please vote to re-elect Judge J. Steven Cox for Franklin County Circuit Court judge. We need a judge with experience, integrity, good character and maturity. We also need a judge who is ethical, adheres to the law and has compassion.

Steven Cox is that judge.

Sharon Womack,

Brookville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook