Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

July 6, 2010

Volunteers and sponsors lift Y's 5K

--- — Dear Editor, On Wednesday, June 16, the Southeastern Indiana YMCA had our annual Batesville Music and Arts Festival 5K Run/Walk at Liberty Park. Beacon Orthopaedics and Sports Medicine once again sponsored the event. The event wouldn’t be successful without all of the volunteers and sponsors. In addition to Beacon Orthopaedics, I would especially like to thank the Ripley County Amateur Radio Club, Batesville police and street departments, Mayor Fledderman’s office, Kroger, Pamida, Day-Nite Food Mart, McDonald’s and Skyline Chili and all of the area businesses that donated gift certificates for prizes. This is the second year we collected canned food for the local food pantry as well. Thank you for your continued support to promote health and wellness in our community! Carisa VanSickle Southeastern Indiana YMCA wellness director

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Reader disagrees with senator Reader disagrees with senator Dear Editor, Senator Coats, a recent editorial titled, "Freeing Hoosier job creators," described your Sound Regulation Act. You said, "The bill would require every federal agency to engage in an extensive analysis to d

    April 15, 2014

  • Remembering those who defend our freedom When we send out our presession surveys each year, they generally show that Hoosiers are concerned with issues such as jobs and education, and rightfully so. While veterans' issues may not immediately come to mind as a pressing concern, many people w

    April 15, 2014

  • Moving up economic ladder begins in childhood New national research reveals that America is still a land of opportunity, but many Indiana communities rank poorly in fostering upward economic mobility for children and youth. According to Harvard University's Equality of Opportunity Project, despi

    April 8, 2014

  • Modest achievements for Gov. Pence INDIANAPOLIS - We aren't quite to the halfway point of Gov. Mike Pence's term, but he's now through his second Indiana General Assembly session and this week signed into law the state's first Pre-Kindergarten program, cut the corporate tax, and provi

    April 8, 2014

  • From the mayor Libraries are vital to communities WHEREAS, libraries help lives change in their communities, campuses and schools; WHEREAS, librarians work to meet the changing needs of their communities, including providing resources for everyone and bringing ser

    April 8, 2014

  • Hunters harvest less deer in 2013 It looks as if the 2013 season is coming in as the eighth best season for Indiana deer hunters. Statistics show hunters harvested fewer deer in the 2013 season than in each of the previous five seasons. Hearing the annual tally might be sobering new

    April 1, 2014

  • Salute military youth, too WHEREAS, thousands of brave Americans have demonstrated their courage and commitment to freedom by serving the armed forces of the United States of America in active duty posts in Afghanistan, Iraq and around the world; and WHEREAS, more than 19,000

    March 28, 2014

  • Retired baker grateful to customers Retired baker grateful to customers Dear Editor, Forty-one years ago I had a dream to open a cake shop. My three boys were young so I was only able to do cakes as a hobby. I baked and decorated cakes for 20 years after working a full-time job outsid

    March 25, 2014

  • Many OA high points this year Many OA high points this year Dear Editor, On behalf of the entire Oldenburg Academy family, I wish to say thank you to the Batesville/Oldenburg community, businesses, families, alums and various well-wishers whose support and encouragement meant so

    March 25, 2014

  • Letter to the editor Ziemke out of tune with constituents Dear Editor, In The Herald-Tribune article "Legislators reveal their thoughts on HJR-3" Feb. 21, our legislators revealed the reasoning for their votes on HJR-3, which would have amended the state Constitution to

    March 18, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
SKorea Ferry Toll Hits 156, Search Gets Tougher Video Shows Possible Syrian Gas Attack Cubs Superfans Celebrate Wrigley's 100th Raw: Cattle Truck Overturns in Texas Admirers Flock to Dole During Kansas Homecoming Raw: Erupting Volcanoes in Guatemala and Peru Alibaba IPO Could Be Largest Ever for Tech Firm FBI Joining Probe of Suburban NY 'Swatting' Call U.S. Paratroopers in Poland, Amid Ukraine Crisis US Reviews Clemency for Certain Inmates Raw: Violence Erupts in Rio Near Olympic Venue Raw: Deadly Bombing in Egypt Raw: What's Inside a Commercial Jet Wheel Well Raw: Obama Arrives in Japan for State Visit Raw: Anti-Obama Activists Fight Manila Police Motels Near Disney Fighting Homeless Problem Michigan Man Sees Thanks to 'bionic Eye' S.C. Man Apologizes for Naked Walk in Wal-Mart Chief Mate: Crew Told to Escape After Passengers
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook