Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

September 6, 2013

The American People deserve liberty, safety

The Fourth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution protects American citizens from unreasonable searches and seizures. In practice, it requires any search warrant or government surveillance to be judicially sanctioned and supported by probable cause. Unfortunately, recent revelations about the National Security Agency’s (NSA) surveillance activities raise serious questions about whether these constitutional protection are being obeyed.

I am deeply disturbed by disclosures over the past several months that the NSA may be conducting surveillance on American citizens without proper legal authority. Media reports suggest the NSA inappropriately collects records of phone calls made and emails sent by American citizens. Some have claimed the agency has even accessed the content of these communications. Others indicate that the agency has the capacity to monitor 75 percent of all U.S. Internet traffic.

Frankly, most Americans don’t know what to believe.

That is why I recently supported an amendment to prevent the NSA from abusing its counterterrorism powers. The amendment, added to the bill that funds the Department of Defense, will prohibit the NSA from targeting and analyzing the phone calls, emails, and other electronic communications of American citizens. This amendment was adopted instead of a more sweeping one that would have imposed a blanket restriction on the collection and analysis of all bulk data, including data that is known to have prohibited more than 50 terrorist attacks. I could not justify such a sweeping prohibition without further congressional examination of its impact.

The President has acknowledged that the NSA’s powers are “scary to some people.” Yet, he assures us that no rights are being violated. After scandals at the IRS, the Department of Justice and elsewhere, the American People are understandably skeptical.

Clearly, we have more work to do. Congress should draw a bright line between acceptable counterterrorism activities and unacceptable violations of our fundamental rights. We should investigate all allegations against the NSA, re-examine its authorities, and determine the best path forward.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

  • St. Andrews supports food program Dear Editor,St. Andrews Health Campus and its employees are committed to compassionate care that extends well beyond the residents St. Andrews serves. Executive director Gwen Reverman and her staff demonstrate their enduring commitment to this princi

    July 11, 2014

  • Golf classic support appreciated Dear Editor, Oldenburg Academy's 23rd Annual Pro-Am Golf Classic Committee would like to thank the many businesses and individuals who supported our golf outing, especially our event sponsors, food sponsors, advertising buyers and gift donors, along

    July 3, 2014

  • July 4 is a day to cherish liberty My name is John Hosbrook, and I died 216 years ago. My family has asked me to take you on a tour of our Patriot Past. They said you might need a refresher since Twitter, texting and TV dance shows have made you a mite forgetful. Why was I selected fo

    July 3, 2014

  • Homegrown spirits return to state fair INDIANAPOLIS - Mark Webb is counting on patrons of the Indiana State Fair to be better behaved this summer than they were in 1946, when a celebratory post-war crowd almost trashed the place. The bad behavior of beer drinkers 68 years ago is what led

    July 3, 2014

  • A dozen colleges do the conference shuffle The most tenured coach at the University of Louisville might not find joining a new athletic conference so special. But for tennis coach Rex Ecarma, the Cardinals’ move is a moment to celebrate.Ecarma has been at Louisville for 23 seasons, battling t

    July 3, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City Diplomatic Push Intensifies to End War in Gaza Cat Fans Lap Up Feline Film Festival Michigan Plant's Goal: Flower and Die Veteran Creates Job During High Unemployment
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook