Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

June 3, 2014

Local police are helpful

Local policeare helpful

Dear Editor,

Recently, I was awakened by a call from a family member who observed something suspicious in our neighborhood. She just wanted to inform me and said she had already notified the Batesville Police Department. Just shortly after we hung up, I saw Batesville’s finest rolling down our road. As it turned out, everything was fine.

Over the past 12 years, I’ve worked far from home improving equipment reliability in industrial process companies. Being away from home and family is hard. Their safety is an ever-present concern. This morning’s call was not the first time over the years we’ve requested the BPD to check out something suspicious. They’ve always accommodated.

I know firsthand that towns like ours across the country are under increasing pressure and crime is often a consequence. My travels are lessening now. However, this call had me reflecting on all the time I’ve been away from home over the years. The relative safety of this community and the services provided by the BPD helps folks like me have some peace of mind.

It’s been comforting to know that even during these challenging times that the BPD is focused on protecting and serving. Their services coupled with the support of the caring people of Batesville lessen the worry associated with being away.

On behalf of those in the area who rely on traveling for their livelihood, I want to express a heartfelt thanks to the Batesville Police Department. Being at home is my preference, but when that is not possible, I rest a little easier knowing that the BPD has my back.

Please support your police department members.

Michael Coleman,

Batesville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

  • St. Andrews supports food program Dear Editor,St. Andrews Health Campus and its employees are committed to compassionate care that extends well beyond the residents St. Andrews serves. Executive director Gwen Reverman and her staff demonstrate their enduring commitment to this princi

    July 11, 2014

  • Golf classic support appreciated Dear Editor, Oldenburg Academy's 23rd Annual Pro-Am Golf Classic Committee would like to thank the many businesses and individuals who supported our golf outing, especially our event sponsors, food sponsors, advertising buyers and gift donors, along

    July 3, 2014

  • July 4 is a day to cherish liberty My name is John Hosbrook, and I died 216 years ago. My family has asked me to take you on a tour of our Patriot Past. They said you might need a refresher since Twitter, texting and TV dance shows have made you a mite forgetful. Why was I selected fo

    July 3, 2014

  • Homegrown spirits return to state fair INDIANAPOLIS - Mark Webb is counting on patrons of the Indiana State Fair to be better behaved this summer than they were in 1946, when a celebratory post-war crowd almost trashed the place. The bad behavior of beer drinkers 68 years ago is what led

    July 3, 2014

  • A dozen colleges do the conference shuffle The most tenured coach at the University of Louisville might not find joining a new athletic conference so special. But for tennis coach Rex Ecarma, the Cardinals’ move is a moment to celebrate.Ecarma has been at Louisville for 23 seasons, battling t

    July 3, 2014