Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

June 3, 2014

No Headline Provided

Citizens aid Safe Passage

Dear Editor,

I have a request for a great cause. Safe Passage is an organization in our area that provides safe shelter for those who have been victims of domestic abuse. Unfortunately, getting out of an abusive relationship is often difficult. Safe Passage provides those who have been abused a place to go in the short term and a safe, sustainable path for the long term.

Typically, Safe Passage receives funding from local government. This year some of those funds were cut. To help, we are putting together a fundraising effort to raise as much money as possible for the Batesville-based nonprofit. On June 6-7 a small group will be attempting to break the world record for the longest Wiffle ball game. The current record is just over 25.5 hours. I’m asking for your help in two ways:

• Contribute. Every penny of any donation will go to Safe Passage. It is a 501(c)(3) so contributions are tax deductible. Every little bit helps. Please make checks payable to Safe Passage and mail to Safe Passage c/o Julie Little, 814 Main St., Brookville IN 47012.

• Be a witness. Witnesses will have food and drinks provided for them, and can even participate as umpires if they would like. If you can commit to spending a few hours with us, that would be great! Please e-mail Julie Little at little-julie@hotmail.com with your name, contact info and the times you can commit to being at the game, held at 10172 Reservoir Road, Brookville.

Please join us to help some of our friends and neighbors who need it the most. Thanks in advance for your help!

To receive a sponsorship form, please e-mail me at judmcmillin@yahoo.com.

Jud McMillin, Brookville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014