Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

April 25, 2014

Trees have many benefits in the community

WHEREAS, in 1872, J. Sterling Morton proposed to the Nebraska Board of Agriculture that a special day be set aside for the planting of trees; and

WHEREAS, the holiday called Arbor Day was first observed with the planting of more than a million trees in Nebraska; and

WHEREAS, Arbor Day is now observed throughout the nation and the world; and

WHEREAS, trees can reduce the erosion of our precious topsoil by wind and water, lower our heating and cooling costs, moderate the temperature, clean the air, produce oxygen and provide habitat for wildlife; and

WHEREAS, trees are a renewable resource, giving us paper, wood for our homes, fuel for our fires and countless other wood products; and

WHEREAS, trees in our city increase property values, enhance the economic vitality of business areas and beautify our community; and

WHEREAS, trees, wherever they are planted, are a source of joy and spiritual renewal.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Rick Fledderman, mayor of the city of Batesville, officially proclaim the day of Friday, April 25, 2014, in the city of Batesville as:

ARBOR DAY

with a celebration to commence Saturday, May 3, during Sawdust Days and a pledge to support efforts to protect our trees and woodlands for the future and well-being of generations to come.

Signed this 14th day of April 2014,

Batesville Mayor

Rick Fledderman

PROCLAMATION HEADER

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Humane society support must be ongoing Dear Editor,There are two words that are short and simple. Two words that can mean the world to some, but yet sometimes cannot seem like enough. Those two words are “thank you.”The Franklin County Humane Society is not only thankful, but so very grat

    August 1, 2014

  • Wanted: concerned board candidates The Batesville Community School Corp. board has an important duty to fulfill – appoint a District 3 trustee due to Chris Lowery’s exit because of a conflict of interest with a new job. The new trustee must be named by remaining board members within 3

    August 1, 2014

  • A larger energy bill is on the way If there is one monthly bill you can count on, it’s your electricity bill. I think Hoosiers across the state can agree, electricity is something we can’t do without. And there is only so much we can save by using less. Every additional dollar spent o

    August 1, 2014

  • Expiring term heightens urgency INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law and thus allow children of undocumented immigrants t

    August 1, 2014

  • Children here are waiting for mentors From the seat I occupy every day, I have a window to the future of Greater Cincinnati’s children.I see children who want to do well in school and who want to stay out of trouble. I see parents who want to help their children, and are willing to reach

    August 1, 2014

  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014