Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

June 25, 2013

BIS staff offers thanks

Dear Editor,

We extend a heartfelt thank you on behalf of the staff and students at Batesville Intermediate School to the many individuals and organizations for their support of our new library. As we wind down our first year, our transition from a small, cozy library to a large, high-ceilinged triple-the-square-footage library media center is nearly complete.

We are grateful to our faithful supporters and to new friends who helped us with specific needs related to moving third grade to BIS. The support has been invaluable, and we are so pleased that we were thought of so often and by so many!

Perennial supporters like Ron and Beth Simons, the PTO and our dedicated volunteers always have our backs. The Simons annually donate half a dozen of the latest, much loved and expensive Guinness World Records books to the school libraries and this year they gave us extra money to spend as needed.

The PTO gives every student a dollar toward the purchase of a book at the book fair and provides annual funds to the library.

Our volunteers help with all kinds of things, including shelving and the book fair. The intermediate school had nearly 30,000 checkouts and a fabulously successful book fair in 2012-13.

This year we had some extra help from the Batesville Lions Club, Batesville Community Education Foundation and local students earning community service hours.

We are indebted to everyone, and thank all for their timely and important assistance.

There are many reasons our schools receive Four Star ratings and turn out such successful students, and the support of our community is certainly an important part of that success. Thank you.

Anne Amrhein, media specialist for grades 3-8

and Dr. Jere Schoettmer, principal

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014