Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

February 5, 2013

Focus Shouldn’t Be On Second Amendment Rights

BATESVILLE — This column is provided by Luke Messer.

As we consider the recent tragedy that occurred in Newtown, Connecticut, it is natural to want to do something to prevent that from ever happening again. The victims of such unthinkable crimes deserve our solemn prayers for their loss and our deepest sympathy for their pain. The perpetrators of evil deserve justice for their crimes.

Yet, as a Nation, we must not allow those who fundamentally oppose the Second Amendment to manipulate such tragedies by misdirecting our attention from the real causes of these crimes in order to advance their agenda. Rather, we should focus our collective grief and attention on finding actual solutions to prevent such tragedies in the future.

The President has seized on this moment to limit gun rights, saying that “if even one child’s life can be saved, then we need to act.” At first glance, this seems like an unassailable notion. Of course, we all want to prevent the death of an innocent child.

The problem, however, is that the President and other opponents of the Second Amendment are seeking to limit our constitutional rights by pitching Americans a false sense of security that by taking away rights, somehow those who intend to do harm will not do so. History shows that gun bans only keep guns away from law-abiding citizens, not criminals. Those who want to build, modify, or acquire weapons for violence will do so.

Simply put, gun bans are not the answer. Federal efforts to stop violence by people using guns should focus on the individual committing the crime. We need real solutions that aim to identify, treat, or limit access to the evil few who would perpetrate these horrible acts.

As the debate moves forward, we would all be wise to remember that to blame a gun for violence is to blame a pen for misspelling a word. If we can come together and focus on the real causes of this violence, then there are opportunities to work together. Without question, we need a serious discussion about how we address mental health issues in our country. I also stand ready and willing to work on policies that would improve school security to better protect our children.

More can be done. Let us focus our attention in ways that will actually stop future violence, rather than allowing others to attempt to advance their agenda by capitalizing on tragedy. I am unwilling to turn my back on our Constitution and sacrifice the liberty of the people I represent for what might give some a false sense of security. Our Founding Fathers knew better. We should too.

Luke Messer is the Congressman for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District, a 19 county region of east-central and southeastern Indiana comprised of manufacturing and agricultural communities.

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Japanese Soldiers Storm Beach in Exercises Raw: Weapons Fire Hits UN School in Gaza Raw: Rocket Launches Into Space With Cargo Ship Broken Water Main Floods UCLA Two Women Narrowly Avoid Being Hit by Train In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast New Sanctions on Key Sectors of Russian Economy Crayola Announces Family Attraction in Orlando US Ready to Slap New Sanctions on Russia Kerry: Not Worried About Israeli Criticism Boater Rescued From Edge of Kentucky Dam Girl Struck by Plane on Florida Beach Dies Rodents Rampant in Gardens Around Louvre House to Vote on Slimmed-down Bill for Border Looming Demand Could Undercut Flight Safety Raw: 2 Shells Hit Fuel Tank at Gaza Power Plant Raw: Massive Explosions From Airstrikes in Gaza Giant Ketchup Bottle Water Tower Up for Sale Easier Nuclear Construction Promises Fall Short Kerry: Humanitarian Cease-fire Efforts Continue
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook