Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

July 23, 2013

Gain an edge wherever you can

(Continued)

I would say the encounter with the snake set Aaron back two or three holes and allowed me to stretch my lead.

A similar situation took place a day later at Gulf Shores Country Club. This time, the creature was a bit bigger with much larger teeth - only this time I encouraged him to get bit closer for a photo. Little did I think he would do it.

Again, my hope was to gain an edge in our game.I think it worked.

As he gradually built up enough courage to step well clear of the cart and approach the small gator for a closer look, it lunged forward into the water. Aaron was not nearly as shaken this time, but still a bit on edge.

His next shot screamed well into a hazard … a costly penalty in a close match. The plan seemed to work again. The advantage was short-lived, but did allow me to gain a stroke or two back.

Phil Mickelson or Tiger Woods we are not. When you are not very good at golf, it is sometimes the other experiences that make the time and money spent worth it. The memory of Aaron racing away from the two reptiles was well worth the price of admission.

I am sure I will remember that much longer than a drive I hit or a save from a green side bunker.

Bryan Helvie can be contacted at theheraldtribune@batesvilleheraldtribune.com or (812) 934-4343 ext. 112.

 

 

Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014