Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

June 19, 2012

Mural a dream come true

-- — Dear Editor,

Before the curtain is removed, as the lead artists for the new downtown mural, we wanted to take the time to thank those who have helped make this dream come true.

This project has been generously funded through donations from the Rural Alliance for the Arts, John W. Hillenbrand Vision Fund for Quality Education, Rockwood Foundation and the city of Batesville. 

We are grateful. 

The outpouring of community support also includes many local businesses that have volunteered their time, services and facilities to house and prepare the arrival of the new mural.

We thank Bruns-Gutzwiller for the removal of the existing mural, materials, equipment and manpower.

We are thankful for Enneking Auto Body and its staff for their expertise in selecting and protecting our body of work and generously donating their labor.  Thanks to the Batesville Community School Corp. administrators, staff and student body for giving us their time, talents and the space.

Last, but far from least, we thank Hill-Rom Holdings for securing a space for all of us to work, at all hours of the day and night and for providing the “wall space” for the mural to be permanently displayed. We would like to give a shout out to Tim Dietz and his administrative services organization for providing us with help when we were in need – from Joe Wuestefeld, Dan Dickey and Bill Koehne, who moved the mural from pillar to post and handled it like it was their own, to the Hill-Rom security team who kept watch on us at night. Thank you.

mural artistic directors

Amy McCabe and

Mary K. Cambron

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Fighting Blocks Access to Ukraine Crash Site Dangerous Bacteria Kills One in Florida Workers Dig for Survivors After India Landslide Texas Scientists Study Ebola Virus Smartphone Powered Paper Plane Debuts at Airshow Southern Accent Reduction Class Cancelled in TN Raw: Deadly Landslide Hits Indian Village Obama Chides House GOP for Pursuing Lawsuit New Bill Aims to Curb Sexual Assault on Campus Russia Counts Cost of New US, EU Sanctions 3Doodler Bring 3-D Printing to Your Hand Six PA Cops Indicted for Robbing Drug Dealers Britain Testing Driverless Cars on Roadways Raw: Thousands Flocking to German Crop Circle At Least 20 Chikungunya Cases in New Jersey Raw: Obama Eats Ribs in Kansas City In Virginia, the Rise of a New Space Coast Raw: Otters Enjoy Water Slides at Japan Zoo NCAA Settles Head-injury Suit, Will Change Rules Raw: Amphibious Landing Practice in Hawaii
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook