Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

September 19, 2013

Time to abandon the President’s job-killing policies, starting with ObamaCare

(Continued)

Some might be willing to accept these results if the promises made to justify enactment of ObamaCare had been kept.  But far too many people are losing their health care, even though they were told they could keep their coverage if they liked it.  The average family premium has grown by more than $3,000 since 2008, even though significant savings were promised.  Taxes are going up, though the President said no one making more than $250,000 would see their taxes increase. 

Simply put, ObamaCare is not working.  That’s why I’ve cosponsored a resolution that will fund important government programs while delaying ObamaCare for a year.  This will ensure normal government operations and shield individuals from this failed experiment while efforts to put people in charge of their health care continue.   The government should remain open, and we should protect the American people from ObamaCare.  This resolution does both.

My hope is that this delay will give us the opportunity to make common sense health care reforms.  Healthcare costs are out of control.  But, the federal government should not be interfering with the most personal decisions in the lives of the American people.  We need reforms that bring costs down and return health care decisions to patients, families and doctors, so that they, not government, can make choices rooted in compassion and common sense.

Luke Messer is the Congressman for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District, a 19 county region of east-central and southeastern Indiana comprised of manufacturing and agricultural communities.

Luke Messer is the Congressman for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District, a 19 county region of east-central and southeastern Indiana comprised of manufacturing and agricultural communities. - See more at: http://batesvilleheraldtribune.com/opinion/x312423498/The-American-People-deserve-liberty-safety#sthash.6qWR9zdI.dpuf
Luke Messer is the Congressman for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District, a 19 county region of east-central and southeastern Indiana comprised of manufacturing and agricultural communities. - See more at: http://batesvilleheraldtribune.com/opinion/x312423498/The-American-People-deserve-liberty-safety#sthash.6qWR9zdI.dpuf
Luke Messer is the Congressman for Indiana’s 6th Congressional District, a 19 county region of east-central and southeastern Indiana comprised of manufacturing and agricultural communities. - See more at: http://batesvilleheraldtribune.com/opinion/x312423498/The-American-People-deserve-liberty-safety#sthash.6qWR9zdI.dpuf

Text Only
Opinion
  • opn - bv081914 - LaMar, Nate Renewing Ex-Im Bank's charter can grow Indiana jobs The Export-Import Bank of the United States (commonly known as Ex-Im) is under attack. This is despite the fact that, as a public corporation, Ex-Im made a 2013 profit of $1.06 billion, which was contributed to the federal government’s net revenue. E

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Council member questions consultant's advice Dear Editor,I would like to clarify why I recommended a maximum 5 percent sewer rate increase at the last city council and board of works meetings vs. the Indianapolis consultant’s recommendation of 15 percent.At the end of 2013, the wastewater utili

    August 19, 2014

  • opn - bv081914 - Ziemke Hoosier Homestead Now Meyers a part of Hoosier ag history As some of you may know, I come from a very large family. I am one of the youngest of nine children and have fond memories of all of us growing up and working on our family farm. As a child, I was not always aware of the history that I was surrounded

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Pitchforks in our summer of discontent INDIANAPOLIS - Congress is ... embarrassing. Our political system is failing us.On an individual basis, many of us have respect for members of our delegation. We can have a common sense conversation with a senator, congressman or woman, and then they

    August 19, 2014

  • Watch for suicide's warning signs Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 15, 2014

  • More pool parties planned for future More pool parties planned for future Dear Editor,What a party it was! Nearly 500 people joined us at the Batesville Memorial Pool for the Back to School Bash. The event started at 3 p.m. and ended at midnight.A sincere thank-you goes out to the mayor

    August 15, 2014

  • Science camp a success Science camp a success Dear Editor,On behalf of the Explore 2 Learn Children’s Museum’s Board of Directors and Events Committee, I would like to express our sincere thanks to the teachers, sponsors and parents who made it possible for 81 area student

    August 15, 2014

  • No Headline Provided Dear Editor, We would like to thank everyone who supported our VFW Day in any way. The money made will be used to support our many programs which help our veterans and active military. If you would like more information or would like to join our org

    August 15, 2014

  • Give nonprofits relief from IRS delays A flurry of scandal has recently surrounded the Internal Revenue Service.Over the past few months, we have learned about missing e-mails from IRS employees and revelations of clear bias and hostility by a top IRS official towards organizations with c

    August 15, 2014

  • Public safety workers close ranks around gay, lesbian colleagues INDIANAPOLIS – Jason Miller has spent 15 years in a job he loves. He’s an emergency medical technician working two jobs as a first responder, and he’s training to become a firefighter in Kokomo.Miller loves the reward of helping others and the camara

    August 15, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Hamm Talks Emmy Chances Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Raw: Egypt Bus Crash Kills at Least 33 Two Bodies Found in Adjacent Yards Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Rescue Efforts Suspended at Japan Landslide Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Raw: Smaller Marches in Ferguson Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn Farm Resurgence Grows With Younger Crowd Microbrewery Chooses Special Can for Its Beer Ky. Firefighters Hurt in Ice Bucket Challenge Federal Investigation Will Look at Use of Force Community Deals With Michael Brown Aftermath US: We Do Not Pay Ransom to Terrorists Life on the Professional Video Game Circuit Ramen Health Risks: The Dark Side of the Noodle
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook