Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

September 20, 2013

Hoosiers are actually trendsetters

The stereotypical image of Indiana as a myriad of fields and farms might be fairly accurate, but most people don’t realize that Hoosiers are actually trendsetters in many ways.

The whole nation seems to be watching us for the next big announcement, probably because we have done some pretty amazing things over the last couple years. Our fiscal condition is one to be envied – especially compared to some of our neighboring states – and we seem to be on the forefront for our policy efforts.

In 2012, we passed a nine-year phase out of the state inheritance tax, generally referred to as a “double tax” or “death tax.” This year, we sped up that process and made it an immediate elimination, keeping millions of dollars in Hoosiers’ pockets and helping to ensure that they are able to more easily afford to keep their family owned-and-operated businesses and farms.

This tax elimination is just part of the largest tax cut package in Indiana history, one that will save Hoosier taxpayers more than $650 million per year once fully implemented. Family farms and businesses are worth fighting to keep. Our community is home to many farms that have been owned and run by the same family for generations. Recently I had the honor of congratulating six families that have owned their farms for more than 100 years. One of those families actually has had their family farm for more than 200 years! These businesses remind us of what can be achieved with dedication and hard work.

One piece of legislation designed specifically to help the farms in our community and around the state was Senate Enrolled Act (SEA) 319. SEA 319 addressed the assessment of farmland for property tax purposes.

The Department of Local Government Finance (DLGF) produced a list of changes last year that equaled an immediate 20 percent increase in property taxes on farmland. The Legislature overwhelmingly agreed that farmers should not be subject to that much of a jump, so we fast-tracked the bill through the General Assembly. SEA 319 put a halt to the dramatic property tax increase and allowed the DLGF to used land assessments from 2011 for property taxes payable in 2014, while also reviewing the assessments causing the hike in agricultural land value.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014

  • St. Andrews supports food program Dear Editor,St. Andrews Health Campus and its employees are committed to compassionate care that extends well beyond the residents St. Andrews serves. Executive director Gwen Reverman and her staff demonstrate their enduring commitment to this princi

    July 11, 2014

  • Golf classic support appreciated Dear Editor, Oldenburg Academy's 23rd Annual Pro-Am Golf Classic Committee would like to thank the many businesses and individuals who supported our golf outing, especially our event sponsors, food sponsors, advertising buyers and gift donors, along

    July 3, 2014

  • July 4 is a day to cherish liberty My name is John Hosbrook, and I died 216 years ago. My family has asked me to take you on a tour of our Patriot Past. They said you might need a refresher since Twitter, texting and TV dance shows have made you a mite forgetful. Why was I selected fo

    July 3, 2014

  • Homegrown spirits return to state fair INDIANAPOLIS - Mark Webb is counting on patrons of the Indiana State Fair to be better behaved this summer than they were in 1946, when a celebratory post-war crowd almost trashed the place. The bad behavior of beer drinkers 68 years ago is what led

    July 3, 2014

  • A dozen colleges do the conference shuffle The most tenured coach at the University of Louisville might not find joining a new athletic conference so special. But for tennis coach Rex Ecarma, the Cardinals’ move is a moment to celebrate.Ecarma has been at Louisville for 23 seasons, battling t

    July 3, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Arizona Prison Chief: Execution Wasn't Botched Calif. Police Investigate Peacock Shooting Death Raw: Protesters, Soldiers Clash in West Bank Police: Doctor Who Shot Gunman 'Saved Lives' 'Modern Family' Star on Gay Athletes Coming Out MN Twins Debut Beer Vending Machine DA: Pa. Doctor Fired Back at Hospital Gunman Raw: Iowa Police Dash Cam Shows Wild Chase Obama Seeks Limits on US Company Mergers Abroad Large Family to Share NJ Lottery Winnings U.S. Flights to Israel Resume After Ban Lifted Official: Air Algerie Flight 'probably Crashed' TSA Administrator on Politics and Flight Bans Raw: National Guard Helps Battle WA Wildfires Raw: Ukraine's Donetsk Residents Flee Senators Push to End Hamas Threat in Cease-Fire A Young Victim's Premonition, Hug Before MH17 Raw: Deadly Storm Hits Virginia Campground Death Penalty Expert: 'This is a Turning Point' Raw: MH17 Victim's Bodies Arrive in Netherlands
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook