Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Reader feels subject too important

Dear Editor,

I woke up early and met a friend at the Sherman House for breakfast. Upon returning home, I laid down as I had only four hours of sleep the night before. With the TV on, I was restless and found myself thinking about the economically depressed Borger, Texas town I left the night before with its many empty downtown buildings and Batesville.

In the background I heard the Pope say that the church was overly pre-occupied with negative issues. Inspired, I leapt to my feet; if the Pope can tackle the elephant in the room then maybe we should as well. I’ve been reluctant as the subject is sensitive but now feel it is too important to remain silent.

Little known is that Batesville has a new reality that began arguably 5 years ago. Much has been learned about how towns in these tough times either recover or slowly continue downward. Some of those indicators: affluence is leaving, kids with drugs, once a “safe-town” now weekly we hear about local crime, 30 buildings empty, homes turning into rentals, consolidation of local power. These are facts. Now, our hopes for a better future rests largely on speculation that an $8-9M building project might bring a few manufacturing jobs. Is this solving or adding to our problems?

I have spent that last nine years undoing the horrible effects of those types of solutions to these types of problems. Is that all this great community can come up with? I don’t think so and many others agree.

Is reelection the motivation for this lousy idea – “If it looks, walks, and quacks …”? We need new thinking for the old problems our town now faces and our Mayor must be kinder to people that have opinions different than his.

Sincerely,

Mike Coleman,

Batesville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • opn - bv081914 - LaMar, Nate Renewing Ex-Im Bank's charter can grow Indiana jobs The Export-Import Bank of the United States (commonly known as Ex-Im) is under attack. This is despite the fact that, as a public corporation, Ex-Im made a 2013 profit of $1.06 billion, which was contributed to the federal government’s net revenue. E

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Council member questions consultant's advice Dear Editor,I would like to clarify why I recommended a maximum 5 percent sewer rate increase at the last city council and board of works meetings vs. the Indianapolis consultant’s recommendation of 15 percent.At the end of 2013, the wastewater utili

    August 19, 2014

  • opn - bv081914 - Ziemke Hoosier Homestead Now Meyers a part of Hoosier ag history As some of you may know, I come from a very large family. I am one of the youngest of nine children and have fond memories of all of us growing up and working on our family farm. As a child, I was not always aware of the history that I was surrounded

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Pitchforks in our summer of discontent INDIANAPOLIS - Congress is ... embarrassing. Our political system is failing us.On an individual basis, many of us have respect for members of our delegation. We can have a common sense conversation with a senator, congressman or woman, and then they

    August 19, 2014

  • Watch for suicide's warning signs Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 15, 2014

  • More pool parties planned for future More pool parties planned for future Dear Editor,What a party it was! Nearly 500 people joined us at the Batesville Memorial Pool for the Back to School Bash. The event started at 3 p.m. and ended at midnight.A sincere thank-you goes out to the mayor

    August 15, 2014

  • Science camp a success Science camp a success Dear Editor,On behalf of the Explore 2 Learn Children’s Museum’s Board of Directors and Events Committee, I would like to express our sincere thanks to the teachers, sponsors and parents who made it possible for 81 area student

    August 15, 2014

  • No Headline Provided Dear Editor, We would like to thank everyone who supported our VFW Day in any way. The money made will be used to support our many programs which help our veterans and active military. If you would like more information or would like to join our org

    August 15, 2014

  • Give nonprofits relief from IRS delays A flurry of scandal has recently surrounded the Internal Revenue Service.Over the past few months, we have learned about missing e-mails from IRS employees and revelations of clear bias and hostility by a top IRS official towards organizations with c

    August 15, 2014

  • Public safety workers close ranks around gay, lesbian colleagues INDIANAPOLIS – Jason Miller has spent 15 years in a job he loves. He’s an emergency medical technician working two jobs as a first responder, and he’s training to become a firefighter in Kokomo.Miller loves the reward of helping others and the camara

    August 15, 2014