Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Reader feels subject too important

Dear Editor,

I woke up early and met a friend at the Sherman House for breakfast. Upon returning home, I laid down as I had only four hours of sleep the night before. With the TV on, I was restless and found myself thinking about the economically depressed Borger, Texas town I left the night before with its many empty downtown buildings and Batesville.

In the background I heard the Pope say that the church was overly pre-occupied with negative issues. Inspired, I leapt to my feet; if the Pope can tackle the elephant in the room then maybe we should as well. I’ve been reluctant as the subject is sensitive but now feel it is too important to remain silent.

Little known is that Batesville has a new reality that began arguably 5 years ago. Much has been learned about how towns in these tough times either recover or slowly continue downward. Some of those indicators: affluence is leaving, kids with drugs, once a “safe-town” now weekly we hear about local crime, 30 buildings empty, homes turning into rentals, consolidation of local power. These are facts. Now, our hopes for a better future rests largely on speculation that an $8-9M building project might bring a few manufacturing jobs. Is this solving or adding to our problems?

I have spent that last nine years undoing the horrible effects of those types of solutions to these types of problems. Is that all this great community can come up with? I don’t think so and many others agree.

Is reelection the motivation for this lousy idea – “If it looks, walks, and quacks …”? We need new thinking for the old problems our town now faces and our Mayor must be kinder to people that have opinions different than his.

Sincerely,

Mike Coleman,

Batesville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Reader disagrees with senator Reader disagrees with senator Dear Editor, Senator Coats, a recent editorial titled, "Freeing Hoosier job creators," described your Sound Regulation Act. You said, "The bill would require every federal agency to engage in an extensive analysis to d

    April 15, 2014

  • Remembering those who defend our freedom When we send out our presession surveys each year, they generally show that Hoosiers are concerned with issues such as jobs and education, and rightfully so. While veterans' issues may not immediately come to mind as a pressing concern, many people w

    April 15, 2014

  • Moving up economic ladder begins in childhood New national research reveals that America is still a land of opportunity, but many Indiana communities rank poorly in fostering upward economic mobility for children and youth. According to Harvard University's Equality of Opportunity Project, despi

    April 8, 2014

  • Modest achievements for Gov. Pence INDIANAPOLIS - We aren't quite to the halfway point of Gov. Mike Pence's term, but he's now through his second Indiana General Assembly session and this week signed into law the state's first Pre-Kindergarten program, cut the corporate tax, and provi

    April 8, 2014

  • From the mayor Libraries are vital to communities WHEREAS, libraries help lives change in their communities, campuses and schools; WHEREAS, librarians work to meet the changing needs of their communities, including providing resources for everyone and bringing ser

    April 8, 2014

  • Hunters harvest less deer in 2013 It looks as if the 2013 season is coming in as the eighth best season for Indiana deer hunters. Statistics show hunters harvested fewer deer in the 2013 season than in each of the previous five seasons. Hearing the annual tally might be sobering new

    April 1, 2014

  • Salute military youth, too WHEREAS, thousands of brave Americans have demonstrated their courage and commitment to freedom by serving the armed forces of the United States of America in active duty posts in Afghanistan, Iraq and around the world; and WHEREAS, more than 19,000

    March 28, 2014

  • Retired baker grateful to customers Retired baker grateful to customers Dear Editor, Forty-one years ago I had a dream to open a cake shop. My three boys were young so I was only able to do cakes as a hobby. I baked and decorated cakes for 20 years after working a full-time job outsid

    March 25, 2014

  • Many OA high points this year Many OA high points this year Dear Editor, On behalf of the entire Oldenburg Academy family, I wish to say thank you to the Batesville/Oldenburg community, businesses, families, alums and various well-wishers whose support and encouragement meant so

    March 25, 2014

  • Letter to the editor Ziemke out of tune with constituents Dear Editor, In The Herald-Tribune article "Legislators reveal their thoughts on HJR-3" Feb. 21, our legislators revealed the reasoning for their votes on HJR-3, which would have amended the state Constitution to

    March 18, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook