Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 4, 2013

Reform needed for Indiana's criminal code

During the 2013 legislative session, the General Assembly took positive steps in enacting the first comprehensive criminal code reform since 1977 in House Enrolled Act 1006. This was a significant step toward a better criminal justice system in Indiana.

Included in the reforms are requirements that felons serve 75 percent of their sentences and increases in penalties for some violent crimes. The Legislature delayed the effective date of the new code to July 1, 2014, to allow time to encourage a review of the proposed law and potential changes to HEA 1006 in its current form.

Prosecutors believe that the Indiana criminal code must serve and protect the citizens of Indiana. We support the positive changes in HEA 1006 and the proposition that the Legislature should fund rehabilitative services for those with substance addiction. As the Indiana Legislature continues to review the Indiana criminal code in the 2014 legislative session, protecting Hoosiers should be the top priority. Prosecutors are advocating for additional critical improvements to ensure safety and protection of Hoosiers.

As written, HEA 1006 dramatically reduces penalties for drug dealers and manufacturers. Prosecutors believe that our communities must be protected from manufacturers and dealers of drugs such as meth, heroin and cocaine. With the seizure of over 1,700 meth labs in Indiana last year (third in the United States) and the sharp increase in heroin use and overdoses, we cannot support dramatic reductions in penalties for dealers of these drugs. Indiana needs a strong response to those who seek to destroy our communities through these activities.

Additionally, HEA 1006 currently allows sentences for nearly every crime to be fully suspended – no incarceration. Prosecutors strongly believe that serious felons should not be eligible to receive a fully suspended sentence. A rapist, a child molester, a felon who committed an armed robbery – all of these offenders would be eligible for suspended sentences under HEA 1006. This is a significant change from longstanding law, and prosecutors will seek to have this amended.

Text Only
Opinion
  • Humane society support must be ongoing Dear Editor,There are two words that are short and simple. Two words that can mean the world to some, but yet sometimes cannot seem like enough. Those two words are “thank you.”The Franklin County Humane Society is not only thankful, but so very grat

    August 1, 2014

  • Wanted: concerned board candidates The Batesville Community School Corp. board has an important duty to fulfill – appoint a District 3 trustee due to Chris Lowery’s exit because of a conflict of interest with a new job. The new trustee must be named by remaining board members within 3

    August 1, 2014

  • A larger energy bill is on the way If there is one monthly bill you can count on, it’s your electricity bill. I think Hoosiers across the state can agree, electricity is something we can’t do without. And there is only so much we can save by using less. Every additional dollar spent o

    August 1, 2014

  • Expiring term heightens urgency INDIANAPOLIS – State Rep. Rebecca Kubacki had plans for her return to the General Assembly next January.The two-term Republican from Kosciusko County wanted to exert “full force” to roll back a law and thus allow children of undocumented immigrants t

    August 1, 2014

  • Children here are waiting for mentors From the seat I occupy every day, I have a window to the future of Greater Cincinnati’s children.I see children who want to do well in school and who want to stay out of trouble. I see parents who want to help their children, and are willing to reach

    August 1, 2014

  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014