Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

October 19, 2012

Local attorney urges voters

-- — Editor’s Note:  According to the Judicial Branch of Indiana Web site (www.in.gov/judicial/), Ind. Trial Rule 53.1 and Ind. Trial  Rule 53.2 address the term “lazy judge” as one  who fails to rule on a motion or delays a judgment.

 

Dear Editor, 

Steve Cox was first elected in 1994.  He was young and inexperienced, and he has not moved beyond that stage.  Steve made some stupid mistakes like locking up a mother of small children when she left the courthouse during jury selection.  I went to his office that afternoon and pleaded for her release so she could care for her children.

The mistakes kept coming and over time those lawyers of us who represent clients in Franklin County realized that Steve was not paying attention.  He became more distant.  He would not take phone calls from attorneys.  We could not get into his office to talk to him, but at the courthouse we had to talk to his secretary through an intercom system.

In my opinion,Steve spends more time out of the office than he spends in his office.  That is an exaggeration, but pretty close.  It would take weeks simply to get his signature on an order probating a will.  (See cause # 24CO1-1108-EM-0032)  At election time, like now, Steve is a fierce campaigner, but between elections he simply goes on vacation.  He does not take time to consider the cases before him and make rulings.  As I said before – Steve Cox is a “lazy judge”.  Franklin County residents deserve better.  I urge your readers to vote for Tammy Davis for Circuit Court Judge. 

Henry A. Pictor ,

Batesville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • opn - bv081914 - LaMar, Nate Renewing Ex-Im Bank's charter can grow Indiana jobs The Export-Import Bank of the United States (commonly known as Ex-Im) is under attack. This is despite the fact that, as a public corporation, Ex-Im made a 2013 profit of $1.06 billion, which was contributed to the federal government’s net revenue. E

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Council member questions consultant's advice Dear Editor,I would like to clarify why I recommended a maximum 5 percent sewer rate increase at the last city council and board of works meetings vs. the Indianapolis consultant’s recommendation of 15 percent.At the end of 2013, the wastewater utili

    August 19, 2014

  • opn - bv081914 - Ziemke Hoosier Homestead Now Meyers a part of Hoosier ag history As some of you may know, I come from a very large family. I am one of the youngest of nine children and have fond memories of all of us growing up and working on our family farm. As a child, I was not always aware of the history that I was surrounded

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Pitchforks in our summer of discontent INDIANAPOLIS - Congress is ... embarrassing. Our political system is failing us.On an individual basis, many of us have respect for members of our delegation. We can have a common sense conversation with a senator, congressman or woman, and then they

    August 19, 2014

  • Watch for suicide's warning signs Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 15, 2014

  • More pool parties planned for future More pool parties planned for future Dear Editor,What a party it was! Nearly 500 people joined us at the Batesville Memorial Pool for the Back to School Bash. The event started at 3 p.m. and ended at midnight.A sincere thank-you goes out to the mayor

    August 15, 2014

  • Science camp a success Science camp a success Dear Editor,On behalf of the Explore 2 Learn Children’s Museum’s Board of Directors and Events Committee, I would like to express our sincere thanks to the teachers, sponsors and parents who made it possible for 81 area student

    August 15, 2014

  • No Headline Provided Dear Editor, We would like to thank everyone who supported our VFW Day in any way. The money made will be used to support our many programs which help our veterans and active military. If you would like more information or would like to join our org

    August 15, 2014

  • Give nonprofits relief from IRS delays A flurry of scandal has recently surrounded the Internal Revenue Service.Over the past few months, we have learned about missing e-mails from IRS employees and revelations of clear bias and hostility by a top IRS official towards organizations with c

    August 15, 2014

  • Public safety workers close ranks around gay, lesbian colleagues INDIANAPOLIS – Jason Miller has spent 15 years in a job he loves. He’s an emergency medical technician working two jobs as a first responder, and he’s training to become a firefighter in Kokomo.Miller loves the reward of helping others and the camara

    August 15, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Furry Roommates: Dorms Allowing Cats and Dogs Chase Rice Defends Bro-Country 'Jersey Shore Massacre' Pokes Fun at MTV Series Raw: Wash. Mudslides Close Roads, Trap Motorists DC's Godfather of Go-Go Honored Ukraine Calls Russian Convoy a 'direct Invasion' Girl Meets Her 'one in the World' Match Coal Gas Boom in China Holds Climate Risks Japan Landslide Rescuers Struggle in Heavy Rain Raw: Severe Floods, Fire Wrecks Indiana Homes Endangered Red Wolves Face Uncertain Future Raw: Russian Aid Convoy Arrives in Ukraine Okla. Policeman Accused of Sex Assaults on Duty Dominican Republic Bans Miley Cyrus Concert Raw: Israeli Air Strike in Gaza Raw: Bodies of MH17 Victims Arrive in Malaysia Attorney: Utah Eatery Had Other Chemical Burn
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook