Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

March 25, 2014

Retired baker grateful to customers

Retired baker grateful to customers

Dear Editor,

Forty-one years ago I had a dream to open a cake shop. My three boys were young so I was only able to do cakes as a hobby. I baked and decorated cakes for 20 years after working a full-time job outside my home. When two of my sons joined the Air Force, room was freed up in the house, and my dream was able to become a reality.

I went through the proper channels, left my full-time job and opened Becky’s Best. My business started out slowly, but gradually picked up. I worked nights (sometimes all night) to give my customers the freshest cakes possible. Nothing was ever frozen from Becky’s Best. My husband John’s second job started when he got home. My sister Kathy was also a big part of the business. There were times when I had to be out of town on Saturday, and Kathy made it possible to run the shop, so John and I could leave.

When I look back at my cake orders (I have kept them all), I am overwhelmed that so many cakes were created in my little shop. In 20 years, I baked and decorated close to 19,000 sheet cakes, 2,500 character cakes, 6,500 assorted sizes of layered cakes, 15,000 dozen cupcakes and 1,600 wedding and anniversary tiered cakes.

I want to thank all of the people who made my business a success. I have fond memories of my customers. Many people tested my creativity, and in recent years I let them know that I’m not the Cake Boss, but I would certainly do my best.

So, once again, thank you to all who helped me turn my dream into a reality.

Becky Quick,

Batesville

1
Text Only
Opinion
  • Freudenfest is admirable Oldenburg has been picturesque ever since the village acquired its church steeples so many years ago.But a great town is not born, it’s made. The reputation the burg enjoys today – a striking German heritage community with extremely friendly people –

    July 29, 2014

  • Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Game raises $7,500 for Safe Passage Dear Editor,I recently helped organize an event to raise money for Safe Passage Inc., a nonprofit domestic violence prevention service headquartered in Batesville. With support from the community and countless volu

    July 29, 2014

  • Looking back 25 years agoRandy Records was named Batesville High School head football coach.The Batesville Community School Corp. trustees named two new principals: Kathy Hennon, Westwood Elementary School, and Charles “Chuck” Mason, Batesville High School.Constr

    July 29, 2014

  • Border crisis must be solved More than 60,000 unaccompanied alien children – mostly from Guatemala, Honduras and El Salvador – have been apprehended on America’s southern border during this fiscal year. Another 40,000 family members – one or both parents traveling with their chi

    July 29, 2014

  • Opinion page policy outlined The Herald-Tribunewelcomes your views. Please make your letters to the editor short and concise, and be sure to include your name and a telephone number where we can contact you to verify the origin of the letter. The submitted material should also c

    July 29, 2014

  • Low college attainment puts Indiana at a disadvantage For many of us, the phrase Big 10 brings to mind the spirited competition that comes with college sports. It may make us think of rivalries on basketball courts and football fields that have endured decades, tied to our pride in an alma mater or fami

    July 15, 2014

  • New laws benefit Hoosier families The beginning of July has taken on new meaning since I first began serving as your state representative. Not only does it signify the start of a new month, it also represents when many new laws take effect in Indiana. As a continuous advocate for chi

    July 15, 2014

  • Overlooking state's working poor has economic costs The Pence administration is calling for a review of the Indiana tax code. The top goals are to simplify the code and to promote economic development. But another worthy goal, one that would boost the Indiana economy, is missing.First, if the governme

    July 11, 2014

  • Financial hardships mount for military families Days before the July 4th holiday, Holly Petraeus stood on the steps of the imposing Indiana War Memorial in Indianapolis, in front of a bank of cameras, and made a plea to military families: Don’t let pride stand in the way of asking for help. It was

    July 11, 2014

  • I'm thankful for our veterans' sacrifices On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was signed, giving birth to a new nation. To Great Britain and the rest of the world, the U.S. proclaimed itself the proud home of free people. Since that day, on more than one occasion, this freedom h

    July 11, 2014