Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

Opinion

January 7, 2014

New healthcare law requires consumer education

(Continued)

After reviewing the federal health care law’s impacts more thoroughly, the extremely limited options for southeast Indiana residents stem from a lack of insurance providers. Since Indiana’s marketplace insurance carriers are limited to Anthem and MDwise, many residents new to the exchange may have to switch health care providers. Physician options, hospital locations and even medication costs are limited on the exchange. Again, I strongly urge you to be cautious of these details when selecting your new plan.

Access to your preferred hospital or physician may still be available to you by applying for health insurance outside of the federal health insurance exchange, though tax credits are not offered for these plans. The benefits of keeping your preferred provider may outweigh the higher cost. Please check with a local health insurance agent for more information.

If you are interested in seeing how the federal health care law can affect your family, visit the following web addresses: www.healthcare.gov (Federal health care exchange), www.in.gov/healthcarereform (Indiana’s guide to navigating the federal health care law) or www.in.gov/fssa/HIP (Healthy Indiana Plan for eligible Hoosiers).

Leising can be contacted bye-mail at s42@in.gov or call 800-382-9467.

Text Only
Opinion
  • opn - bv081914 - LaMar, Nate Renewing Ex-Im Bank's charter can grow Indiana jobs The Export-Import Bank of the United States (commonly known as Ex-Im) is under attack. This is despite the fact that, as a public corporation, Ex-Im made a 2013 profit of $1.06 billion, which was contributed to the federal government’s net revenue. E

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Council member questions consultant's advice Dear Editor,I would like to clarify why I recommended a maximum 5 percent sewer rate increase at the last city council and board of works meetings vs. the Indianapolis consultant’s recommendation of 15 percent.At the end of 2013, the wastewater utili

    August 19, 2014

  • opn - bv081914 - Ziemke Hoosier Homestead Now Meyers a part of Hoosier ag history As some of you may know, I come from a very large family. I am one of the youngest of nine children and have fond memories of all of us growing up and working on our family farm. As a child, I was not always aware of the history that I was surrounded

    August 19, 2014 1 Photo

  • Pitchforks in our summer of discontent INDIANAPOLIS - Congress is ... embarrassing. Our political system is failing us.On an individual basis, many of us have respect for members of our delegation. We can have a common sense conversation with a senator, congressman or woman, and then they

    August 19, 2014

  • Watch for suicide's warning signs Terre Haute native Tommy John understands all too well how the pain of depression can lead a talented entertainer like Robin Williams to commit suicide.Like Williams, John achieved national fame, posting 288 victories as a major league baseball pitch

    August 15, 2014

  • More pool parties planned for future More pool parties planned for future Dear Editor,What a party it was! Nearly 500 people joined us at the Batesville Memorial Pool for the Back to School Bash. The event started at 3 p.m. and ended at midnight.A sincere thank-you goes out to the mayor

    August 15, 2014

  • Science camp a success Science camp a success Dear Editor,On behalf of the Explore 2 Learn Children’s Museum’s Board of Directors and Events Committee, I would like to express our sincere thanks to the teachers, sponsors and parents who made it possible for 81 area student

    August 15, 2014

  • No Headline Provided Dear Editor, We would like to thank everyone who supported our VFW Day in any way. The money made will be used to support our many programs which help our veterans and active military. If you would like more information or would like to join our org

    August 15, 2014

  • Give nonprofits relief from IRS delays A flurry of scandal has recently surrounded the Internal Revenue Service.Over the past few months, we have learned about missing e-mails from IRS employees and revelations of clear bias and hostility by a top IRS official towards organizations with c

    August 15, 2014

  • Public safety workers close ranks around gay, lesbian colleagues INDIANAPOLIS – Jason Miller has spent 15 years in a job he loves. He’s an emergency medical technician working two jobs as a first responder, and he’s training to become a firefighter in Kokomo.Miller loves the reward of helping others and the camara

    August 15, 2014

Featured Ads
AP Video
Obama: World Is Appalled by Murder of Journalist Israel, Militants Trade Fire After Talks Fail Pres. George W. Bush Takes Ice Bucket Challenge Pierce Brosnan's Call to Join the Expendables Changes Coming to No-Fly List Raw: IDF Footage Said to Show Airstrikes Police: Ferguson More Peaceful Raw: Aftermath of Airstrike in Gaza Raw: Thousands March on Pakistani Parliament Raw: World's Oldest Man Lives in Japan Fire Crews Tame Yosemite Fire Raw: Police Weapon Drawn Near Protesters, Media Raw: Explosions in Gaza As Airstrikes Resume Charter Schools Alter Post-Katrina Landscape Texas Gov. Perry: Indictment 'a Political Act' US Officials: Video Shows American's Beheading Video Shows Ferguson Cop Months Before Shooting Water Bottles Recalled for Safety Researcher Testing On-Field Concussion Scanners
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Parade
Magazine

Click HERE to read all your Parade favorites including Hollywood Wire, Celebrity interviews and photo galleries, Food recipes and cooking tips, Games and lots more.
Facebook