Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

April 1, 2014

Hoosier Homestead Awards recognize rich agricultural heritage

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — State Rep. Jud McMillin (R-Brookville) congratulates the Randy and Linda Ickenroth Farm of Dearborn County for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award today. Lt. Gov. Sue Ellspermann and Agriculture Director Ted McKinney presented the award at the Indiana Statehouse.

“I would like to congratulate the Randy and Linda Ickenroth Farm for receiving the Hoosier Homestead Award and for dedicating over a century to Hoosier agriculture,” said Rep. McMillin. “As one of the largest contributors to Indiana’s economy, agriculture is a vital to our state’s continued success, and it is important to recognize the families that are making significant contributions in this line of work.”

The Hoosier Homestead Award Program recognizes families with farms that have been owned and maintained by the same family for 100 years or more. The Randy and Linda Ickenroth Farm has been in operation since 1913. Located in Moores Hill, Ind., the farm was recognized for its commitment to Hoosier agriculture and strengthening the economy.

The program began in 1976 to acknowledge the contributions these families have made to Indiana agriculture. More than 5,000 farms have been recognized since the program was established.

Two awards ceremonies are held each year, in the spring and summer, to commemorate the achievements of the many outstanding Hoosier farmers across the state.

“Southeast Indiana is home to many farming families, like the Randy and Linda Ickenroth Farm, and according to the Indiana Farm Bureau, our agricultural community contributes roughly $25 billion to the state’s economy,” said Rep. McMillin. “Hoosiers everywhere rely on famers for sustenance and nutrition, and we owe much of our state’s growth to these hard working families.”

For more information on the Hoosier Homestead Award Program, visit

Rep. McMillin represents all of Union County and portions of Dearborn and Franklin counties.