Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

November 7, 2012

Republicans ahead in Franklin County

Diane Raver
The Herald-Tribune

BROOKVILLE — Republicans were the big winners in the contested Franklin County races.

With 22 of 23 precincts reporting, Republican incumbent Pamela Beneker received 64 percent of the vote for recorder compared to Democrat Patricia Rosenberger-Marmouze’s 36 percent. For treasurer, Republican Veronica Voelker received 64 percent of the vote to Democrat Glenn Bailey’s 36 percent. Republican incumbent Tom Wilson defeated Democrat Anthony Ball for District 3 commissioner 68 to 32 percent.

The three Republicans running for county council, incumbent Daryl Kramer, Dean McQueen and Rebecca Oglesby, were chosen over Democratic challengers Robert Brack, Sandra Bischoff Hill and incumbent Carroll Lanning and Independent Bobby Bane Sr.

Democrat Joe Gillespie Jr., the incumbent, was unopposed for surveyor.

However, Democrats won the contested Brookville city races. Linda Dunn was elected clerk-treasurer with 71 percent of the vote over Republican challenger Jimmy Webb’s 29 percent

Even though the county primarily went Republican, the contested Brookville city races were won by Democrats.

Diane Raver can be contacted at 812-934-4343, Ext. 114; or diane.raver@