Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

February 25, 2013

Hazardous waste will be collected March 2

The Herald-Tribune

— Southeastern Indiana Recycling District leaders have announced free household hazardous waste (HHW) disposal days throughout their seven-county district.

Offered three times a year, the event is held on designated Saturdays in Franklin, Ripley, Jefferson, Jennings, Ohio, Scott and Switzerland counties.

On March 2, Franklin County residents can drop off HHW at the Franklin County Recycling Center, 9076 Landfill Drive, Metamora, from 8-10 a.m., and Ripley County residents can drop theirs off at the Ripley County Recycling Center, 2710 Hasmer Hill Road, Osgood, from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. Other dates are June 1 and Sept. 7.

HHW includes cleaning chemicals, oil-based paints and stains, pesticides, herbicides, mercury items, fluorescent bulbs, flammables and acids. All liquid, powder, and crystal HHW disposals are now required to have the original product label attached to be eligible for disposal at SEIRD recycling centers. Centers will not accept latex or latex-based paints, which can be disposed of in the regular trash after drying out leftover paint.

Questions about other accepted items can be directed to the centers by calling the Franklin County Recycling Center at 765-647-6710 or Ripley County Recycling Center at 812-689-5084.