Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

January 14, 2014

BACC annual dinner Jan. 30

Diane Raver The Herald-Tribune
The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — Community members are invited to join in the festivities Jan. 30 when the Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce holds its annual dinner and honors local individuals.

For the past few years, the event’s theme has centered around “Oscar Night” and the chamber’s version of the Academy Awards. “This is a time for business owners and the community to come together and share their accomplishments .... and have an opportunity to talk to each other,” reports executive director Melissa Tucker.

Throughout the evening, guests can watch a “Best of 2013” video presentation. They will also have the opportunity to purchase $10 tickets for door prizes and bid on items for the silent auction.

Following a buffet dinner, the awards ceremony will take place.

Honorees are Jane Yorn, Distinguished Service Award; Linda Ortman, Distinguished Educator; Project T3 (Totes for Tots and Teens), Distinguished Organization; and Carolyn Dieckmann, Distinguished Volunteer.

Special recognition will also be given to Jim Helms, Ivy Tech Community College chancellor, who will retire later this month.

Chamber board members, including outgoing (Lori Feldbauer and Kevin Krekeler) members and new President Jim Roberts and Vice President Mary Jon McCaig will be introduced.

Diane Raver can be contacted at or 812-934-4343, Ext. 114.

Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce Annual Dinner Thursday, Jan. 30 Batesville Knights of Columbus Hall 5:30 p.m. - Social time 6:15 p.m. - Welcome and introductions 6:30 p.m. - Dinner, followed by the award presentation • Dress is business casual • Tickets are $35 per person. Reservations must be made by Thursday, Jan. 23. • Info: 934-3101 or