Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

January 7, 2014

Educators receive technology awards

Diane Raver The Herald-Tribune
The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — Educators from the Batesville Community School Corp., Oldenburg Academy and St. Louis School gathered Jan. 3 in the Batesville High School auditorium for the presentation of the Colin Goodnight Technology Awards.

Sponsored by the CREATE (Committee to Review, Evaluate and Aid Technology in Education) Foundation, the awards were established to promote and encourage educational excellence by recognizing exceptional classroom teachers and projects, noted Jackie Huber, BCSC instructional technology curriculum director.

They are named for the late Colin Goodnight, who was an active member and key leader of CREATE, reported Dr. Jim Roberts, BCSC superintendent.

Nominees for the Technology Project of the Year included Aaron Garrett, Batesville Middle School eighth-grade teacher, for 1776 Webquest; Jerilyn Lowery, Batesville High School English teacher, Odyssey Video Project; Jonathon Maple, OA business teacher, Maverick Challenge; Andi McKee, SLS first-grade teacher, Shapes Around our World; Karen Salvitti, BMS sixth-grade teacher, Whale Glogster; and Brandy Westrick, Batesville Intermediate School special education teacher, Writer’s Under Construction.

The winners were Westrick, first place; McKee, second place; and Garrett, third place.

Technology Education of the Year nominees were Ashley Boyce, Batesville Primary School first-grade teacher; Lindsey Huster, BPS second-grade teacher; Karen Kaiser, BIS fourth-grade teacher; Deidre Laker, BHS English teacher; Jenny Lents, SLS junior high language arts teacher; Jonathon Maple, OA business teacher; Kayla Pinckley, BIS fourth-grade teacher; Eric Stauffer, BHS/BMS band director; and Gail Streit, BPS special education teacher.

The winners were Maple, first place; Stauffer, second place; and Streit, third place.

First-place winners received an $800 technology budget for their classrooms and $100 in Batesville Area Chamber of Commerce gift certificates for their personal use. Second-place winners were awarded a $400 technology budget and $75 in gift certificates. Third-place honorees received a $200 technology budget and $50 in gift certificates.

George Junker, CREATE chairperson, explained, the foundation is a “unique school-business partnership that was established in 1994 by local citizens and educators. Its goal was to have a positive impact on our children by encouraging the integration of technology in the schools.

“Twenty years ago, we had a vision of how to get a 1:1 technology initiative. It took us a while, but we got a lot of participation with our business community and educators. Its been a terrific accomplishment for our community because we pulled people together with a common goal.”

Diane Raver can be contacted at or 812-934-4343, Ext. 114.