Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

January 7, 2014

Candidacy filing begins Jan. 8

Diane Raver The Herald-Tribune
The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — Residents of Franklin and Ripley counties who are interested in running for offices in the May 6 primary can begin filing for candidacy Wednesday, Jan. 8.

Diane Macek, Ripley County election deputy, says the necessary forms for county residents are available at the Ripley County Clerk’s Office in the Versailles courthouse. It is open weekdays from 8 a.m.-4 p.m.

Karla Bauman, Franklin County clerk, reports forms are available at Interested candidates can fill out the paperwork and drop it off at the Franklin County Clerk’s Office at the Brookville courthouse. Hours are 8:30 a.m.-noon and 1-4 p.m. weekdays.

She reveals there is a new form, the CAN-12, the Statement of Economic Interests. “The way I understand it is you are required to list all of the corporations you and your spouse are part of .... You have to fill out the entire form, putting ‘Not Applicable’ where appropriate. If it’s not filled out completely, we have to reject it.”

Mary Ann McCoy, Ripley County Clerk, says when candidates turn in the forms, “the girls (in the office) will make sure ... (the paperwork) is completely filled out. If they’re running for a district, they’ll make sure they live in that area.”

She believes, “It’s a privilege to run for office .... The jobs are not easy, but it’s something you can do if you’re interested in politics.”

The deadline for filing is Friday, Feb. 7, at noon.

In Franklin County, the offices that will be on the ballot include District 6 U.S. representative, District 27 state senator and Districts 55 and 68 state representatives.

At the county level, there are Division 2 circuit court judge; prosecuting attorney; circuit court clerk; auditor; sheriff; coroner; assessor; Districts 1 and 2 county commissioners; and Districts 1, 2, 3 and 4 county council.

Other positions up for election include township trustees and advisory board, Democratic Party precinct committeemen, state convention delegates and Wards 2 and 4 Brookville Town Council.

In Ripley County, candidates are being sought for District 6 U.S. representative, District 43 state senator and Districts 55 and 67 state representatives.

County level positions include assessor; auditor; circuit court judge; supreme court judge; prosecuting attorney; sheriff; surveyor; District 1 county commissioner; and District 1, 2, 3 and 4 county council.

Other offices up for election are Osgood Town Council at large seats, township trustees and board members, Democratic Party precinct committeemen and state convention delegates.

For more information, persons can contact the clerk’s offices at Franklin County, 765-647-5111; or Ripley County, 812-689-6115.

Diane Raver can be contacted at or 812-934-4343, Ext. 114.