Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

February 11, 2014

Members look for new town marshal

Diane Raver The Herald-Tribune
The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — With the upcoming retirement of town Marshal Scott Barnhorst at the end of May, Oldenburg Town Council members are seeking someone to take his place.

Paid part-time deputies Steve Yorn and Eric Moenter currently assist Barnhorst.

On Feb. 3, Barnhorst told councilmen Donald Speckman was interested.

Speckman, who was at the meeting, said, “I went through the Indiana Law Enforcement Academy in 1998.” Even though he is currently not working in law enforcement, up until last year, he was a Franklin County Sheriff’s Department deputy.

Member Greg Struewing said, “There may be others who are possibly interested in this position …. Would you be interested in working as a deputy if this doesn’t work out?” He said he would.

Barnhorst also pointed out, “Eric Rousch, Osgood town marshal, is interested in being a deputy” here in addition to his other job.

Members thanked Speckman for his interest. They will continue to take other applications before making a decision. Interested persons may contact Barnhorst at 934-3556.

Since the January meeting was cancelled, the election of officers took place. Dave Wahman will continue as president and Dennis Moeller as vice president. Members welcomed Amy Streator as the new town attorney. Moeller also agreed to continue to serve on the Franklin County Board of Zoning Appeals.

The trio discussed who would represent the town on the Franklin County Area Planning Commission. Moeller pointed out, “This is a one-year appointment …. (and) it’s a rotating seat” because each incorporated town in the county takes turns choosing a representative to serve on that board. “This year, it’s our turn, and we want to have a voice in what’s going on.

“I can’t be on it and the FCBZA at the same time. It’s a conflict of interests.” The commission doesn’t meet every month, only when needed on the second Wednesday, he revealed.

Struewing said he would think about it, but it may not work out because he has other commitments on Wednesdays.

Diane Raver can be contacted at or 812-934-4343, Ext. 114.

Other news • Members approved two building permits. One was for Brian Rennekamp to construct a 27-by-50 foot structure at 3047 Washington St. to be used for personal and business use. The other was for Matt Gehring so he can add a 26-by-7 foot porch at 22161 Vine St. • Struewing said the town's trap shoot at the end of last year raised $857, with "all the money going toward expenses to do with the Christmas lighting and electricity." • Members agreed to give utility clerk Ruth Cooper a 5 percent pay increase. "Ruth has her hands full. She incurs a lot of disgruntled folks who are not satisfied with the costs of water and sewage," Struewing noted.