Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

May 9, 2012

RSRF board members appointed

The Herald-Tribune

BATESVILLE — Rising Sun Regional Foundation officials recently announced the appointment of three new board members: 

Karla Fry Schmeltzer, Aurora Main Street director, was appointed for a three-year term by Aurora Mayor Donnie Hastings to succeed Randy Eaglin, who had been an original board member since 1996.

Stan Wiedeman, a small business owner of Wiedeman Heating and Electric Co., Sunman, was appointed for a three-year term by Wayne Jenner, Sunman Town Council president, and Batesville Mayor Rick Fledderman to succeed George Ammerman, Sunman, who had been a member of the RSRF board for 10 years.

Jerry Smith, Milan, a retired Batesville Casket Co.  longtime  accounting department employee, was appointed by the Ripley County Commissioners to complete the three-year term of Bob Rogers, Versailles, who resigned from the board due to his recent primary residential move to Florida.   

In addition to these appointments, David Brown, Rising Sun, current RSRF treasurer, was re-appointed to the board for a three-year term by Rising Sun Mayor Branden Roeder and the Ohio County Commissioners.

The three remaining RSRF board members who are serving various staggered terms are Marianne Wiggers, current RSRF president, appointed by the boards of trustees of the towns of Holton, Milan, Napoleon, Osgood and Versailles, respectively, in Ripley County; Dennis Elliott, current RSRF vice president, appointed by the Ohio County Commissioners; and Sissy Potter, current RSRF secretary, appointed by the mayor of Rising Sun. 

RSRF was created in 1994 by Rising Sun in conjunction with the development of the Grand Victoria Casino and Resort by Hyatt Corp., according to a news release.