Batesville Herald Tribune, Batesville, Indiana

December 6, 2013

State Sen. Leising receives special honor

The Batesville Herald-Tribune

---- — State Sen. Jean Leising (R-Oldenburg) was honored by the Indiana Statewide Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives with its inaugural legislative “champion award.” The honor was created to recognize a lawmaker who has demonstrated leadership and provided unwavering support in advancing electric cooperative legislative priorities.

Leising, a member of the Senate Utilities Committee and voice for Indiana’s rural residents, carried utility-related legislation in the 2013 session, including the noteworthy Senate Enrolled Act 94. SEA 94 requires the Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission to work with new and existing utility companies to ensure the construction and maintenance of transmission lines so they reliably deliver electricity to ratepayers. In addition, SEA 94 gives local companies the right of first refusal to build transmission lines.

“I carried this bill because it impacts District 42 residents and business owners, and it’s an important issue of local reliability” Leising said. “When I fight for any bill, I think of it as doing the job my constituents sent me to do, and while I didn’t expect to be recognized for the utilities legislation, I graciously accept the award.”

Leising is committed to constituents and businesses throughout her southeastern Indiana district, which spans seven counties and includes six electric cooperatives—Decatur County REMC, Henry County REMC, Rush/Shelby Energy, Southeastern Indiana REMC , Whitewater Valley REMC and NineStar Connect.